User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 15 out of 80
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    While I did have some fun with the handheld games, they never really captured the spirit of the original. However, VC4 truly does feel like the proper sequel to the original that I've been wanting for all these years.
  2. Nov 16, 2018
    9
    even better game than VC1
    + amazing tactical combat
    + unique mix of genres
    + story and lore
    + funny shounen type of story, characters and dialogues
    + soundtrack and cool af
    - some small issues when controling tank are still there
  3. Sep 27, 2018
    8
    Valkyria Chronicles 4 is nearly a clone of Valkyria Chronicles 1, which in this game is actually a good thing and a relief after the Azure Revolution that was terrible.

    That being said while it IS a good game there is one important flaw that I need to address: the story. The story feels more or less like the devs came up in a bit of rush, then stretched it thin using many micro
    Valkyria Chronicles 4 is nearly a clone of Valkyria Chronicles 1, which in this game is actually a good thing and a relief after the Azure Revolution that was terrible.

    That being said while it IS a good game there is one important flaw that I need to address: the story. The story feels more or less like the devs came up in a bit of rush, then stretched it thin using many micro fillers. It's not bad by any means, but I can't say that it's good either. The first one in the series had a much better story I'm afraid.

    Don't let my review disappoint you too much though, you'll still enjoy it, just don't expect it to be quite as epic as the first one.
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    I simply love this game and the Valkyria Chronicles series as a whole. My favorite game!
  5. Oct 4, 2018
    9
    Possédant une personnalité visuelle forte et très agréable, Valkyria Chronicles propose un gameplay fun, abordable et complexe à la fois. Le scénario est incroyablement prenant et les personnages aussi bien écrits qu’attachant. Bref, Valkyria Chronicles 4, compte clairement parmi les meilleurs J-RPG et Tactical RPG de la PS4.

    Pour lire la suite :
    Possédant une personnalité visuelle forte et très agréable, Valkyria Chronicles propose un gameplay fun, abordable et complexe à la fois. Le scénario est incroyablement prenant et les personnages aussi bien écrits qu’attachant. Bref, Valkyria Chronicles 4, compte clairement parmi les meilleurs J-RPG et Tactical RPG de la PS4.

    Pour lire la suite : http://ps4vita.fr/ps4/test/valkyria-chronicles-4-meilleur-j-rpg/
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2018
    9
    Valkyria Chronicles is a series that I have always been interested in playing. In recent years I have been enjoying tactical RPGs like Fire Emblem, Mario + Rabbids, Advance Wars, ect. When Valkyria Chronicles 4 was announced a couple of months ago I thought this was the best time to get in on the series and to add to the excitement, it was also going to be released on Nintendo Switch.Valkyria Chronicles is a series that I have always been interested in playing. In recent years I have been enjoying tactical RPGs like Fire Emblem, Mario + Rabbids, Advance Wars, ect. When Valkyria Chronicles 4 was announced a couple of months ago I thought this was the best time to get in on the series and to add to the excitement, it was also going to be released on Nintendo Switch.

    After putting in 50+ hours into the game I am glad to say that Valkyria Chronicles 4 is not only one of my favorite tactical RPG but, it is also one of my favorite games of the year. One worry I had walking into the fourth game in the series is that I was worried that I needed to play the previous games in the series to understand the story of Valkyria Chronicles. Thankfully no knowledge of the previous games is needed because even though this game takes place at the same time as the original game, there was never a point where I needed context from the original game for me to enjoy the story of this game.

    The game centers around 4 characters Claude, Raz, Kai, and Riley who happen to be childhood friends. The great thing about this game is seeing how war has changed each of the main characters and not only that but seeing how they grow as characters. When moments occur you worry about these characters because you are attached to them. And when it comes to characters I believe Valkyria Chronicles 4 did a great job with the main characters and also the villains because most of the villains you meet are not just evil because the game requires them to be villians. When you see the story of the villains you understand why they are fighting for their side. One worry I had for the this game was that I thought that the other characters you control in the game would just be generic characters you order to do something and that's their roles but, when you match certain characters with each other you unlock bonus chapters that basically shows a story between those character and you get to learn more about the side characters.

    The gameplay is really good and the classes available in this game are great as well. The classes in this game are Scouts which have great mobility and can shoot at a distance. Shocktroopers carry machine guns and have good armor which are great for close combat. Engineers fix your tank and are the only characters in the game that can revive a fallen ally. Lancers carry armor piercing explosives which can take down tanks. Snipers are pretty self explanatory, they can shoot really well from a distance. And the new class introduced in this game is the Grenadier which are soldiers that can shoot mortars from a launcher and are a great tool for not only taking down soldiers but if their accuracy is great, they can take down tanks as well.

    My only really big gripe with the game is that with some of the bosses it felt like they were difficult not because they hard to fight necessarily but because there were times when the damage they were taking didn’t add up. Example being I would have a tank attack a boss and sometimes the damage dealt seems right but when I did the same action the damage taken was not the same. There are also times in the last half of the game when there is a difficulty spike and sometimes it wasn't something I couldn't handle but other times it felt cheap and impossible to win until retrying the missions 3 or 4 times.

    The Switch version of the game ran really well especially in handheld mode which for me helped me choose this version over the PS4 or Xbox One version. There were a couple of times when there were framerate issues, but there were not that many so I gave the game a pass seeing how I enjoyed the experience overall. Valkyria Chronicles 4 is a great game no matter which version of the game you get. The best praise I can give this game is that Valkyria Chronicles 1 is going to be re released on Switch in a couple of weeks and because I enjoyed what I played I am definitely gonna pick it up when it releases.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    This game was made with love and care. Rare sight this days. Pretty similar to the first one, but it's ok. You don't have to be innovative if there is only 2 games in the whole genre.
  8. Sep 25, 2018
    10
    Perfect, like the first one but more complex plot and better graphics. Finally we get another awesome Valkyria Chronicles.
  9. Sep 25, 2018
    9
    Great story, great gameplay, great graphics. Has the heart of a Valkyria game!
  10. Sep 27, 2018
    9
    Solid game, all the mechanics from the earlier entries are improved upon and the new ones feel very useful. Story is fun and thematically darker compared to 1 and 2. I ended up playing through this whole game within two days so it gets a big recommendation from me
  11. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    Great storyline and gameplay, possibly the best installement in the series yet.
    If you like tactical rpgs, dont miss this one.
  12. Sep 26, 2018
    9
    I've been a Valkyria Chronicles fan since the start, after playing a demo for the original game on PSN I immediately went out and bought a new copy retail at an additional $20 above and beyond the retail asking price (still not sure it was priced over retail asking price at the time) It ended up becoming my fav jrpg of that gen and I have since played every game in the series, althoughI've been a Valkyria Chronicles fan since the start, after playing a demo for the original game on PSN I immediately went out and bought a new copy retail at an additional $20 above and beyond the retail asking price (still not sure it was priced over retail asking price at the time) It ended up becoming my fav jrpg of that gen and I have since played every game in the series, although admittedly with Valkyria Chronicles 3 being in Japanese only, I couldn't really get into it.

    With all of that mentioned above, the bar had been set high for me as I eagerly anticipated the Valkyria Chronicles 4 release date.

    I put in about 4 hrs yesterday on top of my previous demo time and I am absolutely loving it! I played my remastered copy of the original Valkyria Chronicles the night before and took down General Gregor and his war train over top of the Darcsen concentration camp to brush up before Valkyria Chronicles 4.

    These games both play so similar, although I've really come to appreciate the Grenadier Class being added to VC4. With the ability to launch mortars to knock down sandbag bunkers and pick off infantry units with my snipers and other assorted fire power from a safe/ covered area.

    The characters as you get to know them and start to get a bit of a back story have been interesting and likable with Claude having many of the same qualities of Welkin. Raz offers a gritty side that was maybe absent from other VC entries and Kai seems to be pretty level headed.

    The visuals have definitely improved since VC was last on a console during the PS3 days, yet VC4 is still faithful to the original art style and comic panel format for dialogue. I feel the dialogue can go on between missions longer than they did in VC but the story has been progressing interestingly enough to warrant the extended dialogue.

    With this entry into the Valkyria Chronicles series, Sega has given the core audience exactly what they've wanted after all these years... a faithful successor to the original VC with a handful of improvements.
    Expand
  13. Sep 26, 2018
    10
    Very little innovation but its a love letter to the first game which is just what I wanted,
  14. Oct 28, 2018
    0
    Sold premium edition over $100 not including further DLC, then decided to port to steam.
    Nice trick here, had fooled me this time, SEGA.
  15. Oct 1, 2018
    10
    Great tactical RPG that can be very challenging. Story is great and makes you want to do another mission after another. Great addition to the series.
  16. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Fantastic game for sure. Even more difficult then the first VC. If it wasnt for same two meta trolls using multi accounts, the user score would be 9.0+, they are bitter about the tank not being made of cast iron, literally has nothing to do with the game.
    The only downside is no battle valkyria for your own team, they fixed this however with DLC and you get THREE valkyrias if you include
    Fantastic game for sure. Even more difficult then the first VC. If it wasnt for same two meta trolls using multi accounts, the user score would be 9.0+, they are bitter about the tank not being made of cast iron, literally has nothing to do with the game.
    The only downside is no battle valkyria for your own team, they fixed this however with DLC and you get THREE valkyrias if you include a certain someone from the first vc
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Oct 29, 2018
    83
    Even if you're not already a fan, Valkyria Chronicles 4's engaging story and interesting characters will win you over with a WW2-inspired setting that doesn't shy away from dark subject matter. For veterans of the series, this new chapter will give you a good run for your money, despite some unintuitive menus and wonky character mechanics.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 28, 2018
    80
    Valkyria Chronicles has had a rocky history in the West, with the third game never even hitting our shores, but Valkyria Chronicles 4 is just what the fans ordered. [Issue#155, p.96]
  3. Edge Magazine
    Oct 11, 2018
    80
    The scenarios are often ingenious finding fresh ways to breathe new life into familiar systems. [December 2018, p.116]
Edmon Ryan | 2 Patch Toppe Sparco In Raso Ricamate Termoadesive Cm 9 X 3,3 | TAPPETI TAPPETINI GOMMA Spacetourer / Traveller / ProAce Verso II dal 2016