Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 26, 2018
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
7
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Popcorn55Oct 31, 2018
Well, this ain't no Red October or Crimson Tide. But, it's a pretty good naval combat drama which could have been much better. Good effects, talent, reasonable script, decent story -- but it somehow doesn't carry any real voltage except inWell, this ain't no Red October or Crimson Tide. But, it's a pretty good naval combat drama which could have been much better. Good effects, talent, reasonable script, decent story -- but it somehow doesn't carry any real voltage except in a few scenes. The subtle flaw here is the editing! The editing is constantly episodic -- one set scene, then another, but few of the little connecting scenes that a director and editor are supposed to fill in to create a smooth, immersive story narrative. Example: the officers climb up into the hatchway to the mini-sub. Then -- boom -- cut to the officers sitting at the controls 3 min. later. Jarring "jump cut" just skips over a whole segment of time! We're like, "huh?" Normally a director will fill in a few 1-second, 2-second transitional scenes quickly showing the guys scrambling up out of the hatch -- urgently running to the controls -- strapping in -- flipping switches. This creates a series of shots pulling us along through an urgent and suspenseful part of the story where time is of the essence. Instead, we just cut to the guys sitting kind of relaxed at the controls. No tension! No voltage! It's "limp", and destroys the suspense.

This sort of thing happens over and over again throughout the film. It's as if they used the spec script as the shooting script -- as if they shot the whole film as a series of storyboards, with no interpolation or connecting material. It damages the film badly, but it's also very educational -- a shining example of what "episodic" really means, and why it's avoided by professionals.

Despite this, it's still an entertaining film, and I felt like I got my money's worth. The scene where the sub is getting kicked around by all those mortar depth charges is epic! Excellent punchy sound and visual effects, reasonably well cut, thasss what I wanted to see, oh yeah.
If they'd had more of that, and the director/editor had worked harder at transitional details (rather than just leaving them all out), it could have been a really tight and memorable war drama. Maybe they were trying to cut out scenes to shorten the run time? If so -- penny wise pound foolish. DON'T cut the 1-second transition scenes, that won't save any real time, but it'll hurt your film bad Mr. Director!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BostjanNov 2, 2018
It gives your the typical american action movie vibe, but actors play their roles extremely good which helps you in achieving the ultimate action satisfaction. I have ranked it 7 because the ending can be predictable, but it has fewIt gives your the typical american action movie vibe, but actors play their roles extremely good which helps you in achieving the ultimate action satisfaction. I have ranked it 7 because the ending can be predictable, but it has few unexpected turnouts which makes it good and fun to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
moviecritic68Oct 31, 2018
The current user score is ridiculously low. The movie is what it was intended to be. A well photographed & acted action film. Sure it resembles other screenplays but it has enough sub-plot changes to keep you interested & give it an identityThe current user score is ridiculously low. The movie is what it was intended to be. A well photographed & acted action film. Sure it resembles other screenplays but it has enough sub-plot changes to keep you interested & give it an identity of it's own. Not an Oscar nominee but a good old entertaining action film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Mark_OOct 30, 2018
I really enjoyed watching it with boxxy software. Just a basic submarine action flick with a nice hostage rescue side story. Butler was great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
megfedjimNov 2, 2018
Great plot. Gerard Butler did amazing as the submarine captain. Go into the theater knowing that this movie is supposed to be a slightly unrealistic action film not based on any historic or plausible scenarios and you'll love it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
TubaFettOct 31, 2018
This is a very exciting and entertaining sub movie. Gerard Butler does an excellent job playing a submarine commander, taking his boat and crew into extreme danger and staying cool and collected throughout. Toss in some SEALs and a rescueThis is a very exciting and entertaining sub movie. Gerard Butler does an excellent job playing a submarine commander, taking his boat and crew into extreme danger and staying cool and collected throughout. Toss in some SEALs and a rescue mission on a Russian naval base, and you're in for a good ride. The cast does a great job overall and while the technical aspects aren't based in reality, only a veteran will likely know the difference. This is a fun movie to watch and I highly recommend it! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DavidusW426Oct 27, 2018
My son and I went to see this. We really enjoyed it. Was the plot line or acting extraordinary? No. But I was entertained, and that’s why I go to action movies. 10 out of 10, and I rarely give a movie a 10. My taste?
I also gave A Star
My son and I went to see this. We really enjoyed it. Was the plot line or acting extraordinary? No. But I was entertained, and that’s why I go to action movies. 10 out of 10, and I rarely give a movie a 10. My taste?
I also gave A Star is Born a 10 and Crazy Rich Asians a 9.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
StraciatellasNov 1, 2018
Finally! It's been a while since we've had a notable USA - Russia action movie. And if you overlook some of the "could have been better" CGI explosions, this was actually really fun to watch. Gerard Butler pulls of a more than decent subFinally! It's been a while since we've had a notable USA - Russia action movie. And if you overlook some of the "could have been better" CGI explosions, this was actually really fun to watch. Gerard Butler pulls of a more than decent sub marine commander, as well as his "Russian" colleague Michael Nyqvist. The only casting problem for me was Michael Gor, who looked like a spoiled little boy for the duration of the movie, instead of an admiral gone rogue. All in all, a very entertaining movie, which proves that there is still more to gain in the submarine genre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DaroSykoNov 4, 2018
Overall a good film,certainly not an acurate documentary on submarines.

If you enjoyed red October then you may enjoy watching this film and we enjoyed the story..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Résine ÉPOXY transparente anti UV KIT 1 kg | Suits Season 3 Complete 480p MKVTV MKV | AnimeDLR 2.8.0 APK Free