The Lucky One DVDRIP | Watch Movie | Spectrogram
Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 2018
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 112 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
12
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
hajinJul 26, 2018
This movie starts off really strong. The first 40 minutes or so is fantastic -- it's quirky, but absolutely hilarious. There's solid pacing, some great scenes, and just a great vibe to it. It might have a message, but it's self aware in a wayThis movie starts off really strong. The first 40 minutes or so is fantastic -- it's quirky, but absolutely hilarious. There's solid pacing, some great scenes, and just a great vibe to it. It might have a message, but it's self aware in a way and keeps it light. But then, the tone starts to shift and the comedy starts to fade out. The jokes become less frequent and not as funny. The main plot drags a little and a few subplots that never have a payoff pop up. And then near the very end, it just really takes a nose dive in quality and gives up funny and quirky for just flat out weird, but - again - weird with no real payoff. It started off so great, but it feels like they didn't really know exactly what to do with the story in the second half. It's a shame though, because this would be a classic if it had stayed more tonally consistent and there were better writing in the second half. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SankyaOct 11, 2018
I like Boots Riley the musician, but if his directorial debut is anything to go by, I am not a fan of Boots Riley the film-maker. This movie is a godawful mess. Good actors giving terrible performances with very thin, poorly fleshed outI like Boots Riley the musician, but if his directorial debut is anything to go by, I am not a fan of Boots Riley the film-maker. This movie is a godawful mess. Good actors giving terrible performances with very thin, poorly fleshed out characters & visually the movie is a chore to watch. I understood & am sympathetic to Riley's political message but this film only does a disservice to what he's trying to get across. It would have been much better if this was made with Riley as the screen-writer & someone like Mike Judge as the director. Really disappointing & WAY over-praised (just another sign of our lowering standards & willingness to praise anything that is of the 'correct' political stance) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeOct 16, 2018
circles up that current moment with a certified meaning..

Sorry To Bother You Riley's debut major motion picture mocks over the society with such humor and panache that you are laughing equally as much as you are moved by it. It is a flood
circles up that current moment with a certified meaning..

Sorry To Bother You

Riley's debut major motion picture mocks over the society with such humor and panache that you are laughing equally as much as you are moved by it. It is a flood of every bit of long lasting emotions that he aspired to fill in, into a metaphorical tale. This blatant venture of an incoming and outgoing psychology of the current society gets the busyness of the lifestyle aptly on screen. It is so busy that you might feel hectic and nauseated to get into it. The exaggeration of making a point loud and clear may not work for everyone here. It undoubtedly takes few things too far, but Riley's grip on his sharp vision never loses this tale even though it fumbles. The disturbingly murky world created by him is much more scary than it accounts for, it may take things lightly but you better not. And the primary reason to that is, how it makes our usual worries and care for the world so little that it gives you the chill of abyss-ness. It is a well thought out script, each tiny notion projected in here may or may not be a major factor in latter stages but surely circles up that current moment with a certified meaning. It is also flat out hilarious with your typical gags of repetitive pointlessness and difference of opinions and aforementioned, the exaggeration. It puts you right in the spot when it wishes to tickle you and pulls you back right when it wants you to take things seriously. The frame of references used are also at times out of this pathos world, like Glover quoting, "I'm too old for this s***." The pace also helps a lot on boosting off the tale along with its less than two hours of runtime, it doesn't take its concept for granted. The cameos, the rules, the pop culture, the mob mentality and the thirst for climbing up through every pros and cons, everything basically drools the knack for keeping it slick and attractive for the younger audience. But it still doesn't suggest that it is a tale for one, it is equally complex as much as simple the storytelling is. The protagonist soaring higher and higher with a graph that is always off the charts, it is a very busy feature similar to the job he does. And filling such shoes, is Stanfield that is funny and wounded at the same time, he makes use of that clock as much as he can, the camera has to be attentive to him because he is to it. Thompson as a voice of reason, is convincing along with Yeun as a competitor and Hammer as a sinister leader trying to change the law of nature and control the world surrounding him, has done a decent work. Armed with a gripping and layered narration, Riley's execution is brilliant considering, he is a debutant. Sorry To Bother You may bother you but after analysing it, you'd want to be bothered by it once again.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cinephile_23Jul 11, 2018
If you want to see one of the craziest, satiric, sci-fi comedies (of which there only a few), let me tell you, "Sorry To Bother You" delivers. With unpredictable plot points, biting commentary, and sheer creative madness, this will mostIf you want to see one of the craziest, satiric, sci-fi comedies (of which there only a few), let me tell you, "Sorry To Bother You" delivers. With unpredictable plot points, biting commentary, and sheer creative madness, this will most likely go down as one of the great social satires in the early-21st century. A must see for those who want something new, exciting and intellectual out of their summer movie-going experience! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
toadchvachyJul 13, 2018
Gosh golly this movie is a surrealist masterpiece, its full of humor in the best way, no bathos, just situational. If you saw the trailer, where the main asks for 40 for gas, that is pretty much the level of humor in this. The satire is pureGosh golly this movie is a surrealist masterpiece, its full of humor in the best way, no bathos, just situational. If you saw the trailer, where the main asks for 40 for gas, that is pretty much the level of humor in this. The satire is pure satire, in every shot there is something that calls out a harmful thing in reality. Later in the film, this goes down a little, as if the movie is preparing you to delve through the shocking twist. No spoiler but near the end, while it is heavy handed, the metaphor is awesome. If you know who boots riley is as a rapper, and you jive with that, you will enjoy this movie. I especially enjoyed Tessa's character. 10/10 would see again. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexJul 6, 2018
Sometimes artistic expressions are entertaining, sometimes they are thoughtful, and sometimes they are just weird. "Sorry to Bother You" fits all three categories. One thing's for sure: you haven't seen anything like it.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
arod10901Jul 14, 2018
I'd give it a 10 out 10 for sheer originality, it was bold, inventive, wild, twisted, hilarious and unpredictable, instant cult classic status, very refreshing to see a film and have no idea where it is going, I love how the trailer doesn'tI'd give it a 10 out 10 for sheer originality, it was bold, inventive, wild, twisted, hilarious and unpredictable, instant cult classic status, very refreshing to see a film and have no idea where it is going, I love how the trailer doesn't give away much at all, on a side note one of the reasons I didn't enjoy The Shape of Water as much as I thought I would is because I had seen like 4 different versions of trailer that basically gave away the whole film so nothing felt new or exciting when I saw it in theaters, this was the exact opposite, I was shocked and blown away by some of the twists, must be seen to be believe, highly recommended. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesJul 13, 2018
It is enjoyable before taking a sharp left turn into WTF territory. But through and though, Dame Tessa Thompson’s shirts and earrings are the real MVP.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
DufreshestJul 14, 2018
Sorry To Bother You: What Is Being Today? (Review)

Cinematography: 8.121/10 I sense jaggedness and lopsidedness which contributes greatly to the film's flowing story. This film forces itself to be a work of art deserving recognition.
Sorry To Bother You: What Is Being Today? (Review)

Cinematography: 8.121/10 I sense jaggedness and lopsidedness which contributes greatly to the film's flowing story. This film forces itself to be a work of art deserving recognition. 

Costume Design: 8.499/10 The deluging of corporate culture throughout the film is comically shown through attire as the film progresses though hinges on stereotypes. If you've ever seen traditional corporate photos then the backdrop of many of the scenes might look familiar to you from an outside perspective. The idea is to look good on the outside despite the inner goings of a particular corporate model. 

Film Editing: 8.121/10 It seems intentional in moments though not intentional and then one realizes - there's something up with this picture. It's meant to be blatant though subtle.

Make-up and Hair-styling: 8.721/10 Consistent and revealing.  

Sound Editing: 8.801/10 The eerie music should not comfort anyone. Sorry To Bother You completes itself by its use of sounds and voice. People should really be like - what is going on? and awfully suspicious from the sound alone which I think is really important to better understanding the film. The music is like a Siren singing. 

Visual Effects: 7.739/10 There's definitely a wow-hrmm factor.

Story: 8.999/10 Sorry To Bother You is funny and really deep. The overt comical and dramatic aspects might cause one to overlook the undertone messages each acting partner is riddling throughout concerning Africa, Resourcing, Outsourcing, Insourcing, Dating Culture, Corporations, Unions, Sexual Health, Food Development and Quality, Success, Economy, Friendship, Partying, and Ethics - to name a few. 

Acting: 9.092/10 All of the acting partners do a really great job making Sorry To Bother You an effective-funny film. There's a strong aspect of comedy which I appreciate especially when done well which I've only seen successfully done so many times. It's hilarious because it really happens in everyday conversation especially in public places. Have you ever seen Don't Be A Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood? Do you remember Toothpick? The actors in Sorry To Bother You really capitalize on these moments which I like to call Open Sidebars, insightful reprieves and transitions from another side of the story which is receiving heavy focus to another which is essential though not as tense (like the calm of a river - not the rush of the waterfall).

Personal: Sorry To Bother You plays on a lot of tropes (of which I mention in the Story section) without being redundant. A line and a song come to mind as I'm watching the film: "You can't be broke and happy, so me I'm mad rich" by Lil Wayne and "This Is America" by Childish Gambino. Interesting questions come to mind as I observe Sorry To Bother You (which is an appropriate title name because - obviously, there's a lot that needs addressing): How does one earn affluence? What does one do with their affluence? What types of culture are breeding at the expense of human choice and dignity? How much can anyone really afford to care about anymore? 
Sorry To Bother You questions purpose. I think there's a lot of good in the world and that I will be very wealthy with an aware-intelligent family. Only so many things last in a life anyway. Sorry To Bother You is a good film which I'll remember like Dazed and Confused.

Overall: 8.511/10

-K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.

Gambino, Childish. "This is America."Childish Gambino, 2018. Online, http://youtu.be/VYOjWnS4cMY, accessed July 14, 2018.

Wayne, Lil. "Throw It in the Bag."No Ceilings, Lil Wayne. Online, http://sweetslyrics.com/710166.Lil'%20Wayne%20-%20Throw%20It%20In%20The%20Bag.html, accessed July 14, 2018.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
luckystrike_bhJul 12, 2018
I am still trying to process this movie but I do know that it is great! It is refreshing as a movie goer to have a director take me somewhere unexpected and be genuinely entertained. I seriously think that word of mouth is going to takeI am still trying to process this movie but I do know that it is great! It is refreshing as a movie goer to have a director take me somewhere unexpected and be genuinely entertained. I seriously think that word of mouth is going to take this movie in to huge box office returns. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
dammanJul 13, 2018
Great movie. Funny and well acted. I will keep it short so if you want to see a great movie that has a great script and acting this will keep you glued to the screen.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantJul 8, 2018
One of the weirdest, wildest sci fi satires I have ever seen -- so strange, in fact, that I'm amazed (but thankful) that this project got the green light to be made. This dark, poignant comedy keeps viewers guessing from start to finish, withOne of the weirdest, wildest sci fi satires I have ever seen -- so strange, in fact, that I'm amazed (but thankful) that this project got the green light to be made. This dark, poignant comedy keeps viewers guessing from start to finish, with unforeseen twists thrown in at seemingly every turn. Not all of the jokes land successfully, and even some that do work at times seem out of context, but the bulk of the humor is hilarious, over the top and tinged with skewering social commentary. This one definitely won't appeal to everyone, but for those who have an off-the-wall sense of humor and enjoy unconventional offerings like "Get Out," "Brazil" and "Liquid Sky" will certainly appreciate this one. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
stjude_bruhJul 16, 2018
Many times, movies that don't deserve to be critically lambasted (i.e. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword) end up being critically lambasted. Simultaneously, movies that don't deserve critical praise (i.e. Wonder Woman)  end up receiving a heapMany times, movies that don't deserve to be critically lambasted (i.e. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword) end up being critically lambasted. Simultaneously, movies that don't deserve critical praise (i.e. Wonder Woman)  end up receiving a heap of critical praise. When I see movies receive critical praise, I become more interested in seeing them. I know I said that I don't check reviews, but every time I get on the internet its hard to avoid seeing such content.

I unfortunately saw reviews and commercials that raved about how good and true Sorry To Bother You was. It was described as a fresh, relevant, and hilarious take on the sci-fi/comedy genre that meant so much to what events are transpiring in our world today. I'm guessing that, based on the director, actors involved, and just just watching the commercials seeing Lakeith Stanfield doing a "white voice", it had something to do about race. Whatever it's hidden message about racial equality was, it got lost behind direction that was non-parralel almost on a Gotti level and a crazy twist that was a major WTF. I don't think the twist had anything to do with our modern world; if it did, then i missed it completely.

I will first begin with good things since this is a negative review that should end with the bad. The good aspects included Lakeith Stanfield's standout performance as the main character Cassius "Cash" Green. He was able to transition from a non-social loser who carries himself as a timid individual to an entitled selfish prick when he earns the promotion. That is not a spoiler; it is explicitly in the trailers that he moves up the ladder in his job. He does a great job in creating a character that makes us think about how we would become if we were to leave behind our friends and beliefs in pursuit of wealth and personal gain. It made me beg the question as well, even though the situation Cash was in is definitely unrealistic. It is a movie after all. Stanfield's performance along with the rest of the cast is the main standout moment in the movie. That about does it. Time to move on to the bad stuff.

In my opinion, just about everything else with this movie is bad. The directing is misguided and all over the place, which is also bad credit towards the editing. The  transitions between each scene make the film feel that it was made using Microsoft PowerPoint slides. All these different fades and transition effects are misplaced, which is distracting and harms the focus that viewers should be placing on the movie. The directing isn't the only bad thing; the overall message and plot of the film is unknown. I have no idea what the movie is trying to say about "white voice" and "black voice". As established in the trailers, Cash is able to move up the echelon of importance in his workplace by using his "white voice" to have his phone clients pay attention to him. He seems to move up the ladder very fast, but the film loses whatever message it was trying to parlay from there. Many of these films that criticize race relations in our nations only point out issues with African-Americans, and they seem to be exaggerated. It can get annoying when people continue to complain about issues by being preachy in entertainment only; it takes away from the joy of entertainment.

After I walked out of the theatre, I was very disappointed with the film. There was so much hype surrounding it that I could not avoid any press or reviews. I tried to, as they have altered my expectations in the past, but I could not avoid it. I myself had been interested in seeing the movie after watching the trailers; the premise looked interesting, and I am a big fan of Lakeith. However, the message of the film was not clear to me. It got lost within a large array of unnecessary content that did not push the film forward. There is one major shocking and disturbing twist at the end, and all I have to say about that is WTF.

Overall, I would say that this movie is not worth your $20, $12, $2, or your time. If you never watch it, you won't miss a thing. 

Rating wise, I would give Sorry To Bother You 5 stars out of 10. Just don't.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJul 7, 2018
It's not often that we get to see a true, surrealist, absurdist film done well. It's even harder to make surrealism timely. Boots Riley has accomplished these tasks and more in his masterpiece, Sorry to Bother You. This movie capturesIt's not often that we get to see a true, surrealist, absurdist film done well. It's even harder to make surrealism timely. Boots Riley has accomplished these tasks and more in his masterpiece, Sorry to Bother You. This movie captures everything that is going on in the United States right now perfectly: capitalism gone haywire, race relations, class relations, unions, corporate power struggles, and corporate corruption; and it captures these things better than any realism narrative could. If you care at all about what goes on in this country right now, this movie is a must see. If you love surrealism, and are a fan of Salvador Dali or Renee Margritte or Samuel Beckett or Harold Pinter, you need to see this film. If you are sick of the right wing trolls lurking on Metacritic who blindly follow the right's hypocritical narrative, you MUST see this film. If you don't know anything about politics, or don't really care too much, GO SEE THIS FILM. It's funny. It's engaging. It's poignant. And most of all, it is OUT THERE. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
clutch_cobraJul 13, 2018
Incredibly original and wonderfully imaginative, Sorry To Bother You defies many genre tropes and delivers a film that is truly unique. All the characters have clear motivations, and are comparable (if not smart caricatures) of people inIncredibly original and wonderfully imaginative, Sorry To Bother You defies many genre tropes and delivers a film that is truly unique. All the characters have clear motivations, and are comparable (if not smart caricatures) of people in everyday life. So by the time we reach the more fantastic and science fictional areas of the story, we're already grounded in a sense of realism that helps the greater message of the film carry through. A must watch for the current generation. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKJul 18, 2018
I can’t believe I’ve seen two movies I have scored a “10” this week – and this one in a megaplex! “Sorry to Bother You” is a satire that’s more in the savage spirit of “A Modest Proposal” by Jonathan Swift than the more polished and tamerI can’t believe I’ve seen two movies I have scored a “10” this week – and this one in a megaplex! “Sorry to Bother You” is a satire that’s more in the savage spirit of “A Modest Proposal” by Jonathan Swift than the more polished and tamer “The Producers” by Mel Brooks. Boots Riley’s film is very, very funny, but it is also very smart and takes on everything from telemarketing, which we all hate, to the darkest side of capitalism, which is a far bigger and more complex subject. I have to see this film again because it goes by fast and furious, so I probably missed a lot. Lakeith Stanfield was excellent as was Armie Hammer – and the entire cast. This is the kind of film that you take a chance on because it gets really good reviews – and it turns out to be great. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJul 19, 2018
When a black man (Lakeith Stanfield) starts his new job as a telemarketer, he's encouraged to use his "white voice" to make more sales. His success leads him on a twisting adventure that (I guarantee) you will not see coming. Suffice it toWhen a black man (Lakeith Stanfield) starts his new job as a telemarketer, he's encouraged to use his "white voice" to make more sales. His success leads him on a twisting adventure that (I guarantee) you will not see coming. Suffice it to say that there's a sci-fi element that takes this movie into a surprising place. Writer/director (and rapper) Boots Riley has demonstrated an assured grip on storytelling with some creative directorial moments. Although the messaging is heavy handed and it spirals a bit out of control before the end, it's still a dark, fascinating and unique look at the world…or at least Oakland. There's also a great soundtrack from The Coup (Riley's band). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
treestandJul 23, 2018
The less you know about this film going into it, the better. It's amazing. So surreal, yet so real. Go see it, get your friends to see it. I don't want to spoil anything here, but this film is worth being talked about, not just about theThe less you know about this film going into it, the better. It's amazing. So surreal, yet so real. Go see it, get your friends to see it. I don't want to spoil anything here, but this film is worth being talked about, not just about the plot, or the quirky optics, but about the ideas presented through it. If you're into surrealist satire and poignant social commentary, you'll love this film. If you prefer your films to have soft edges, then gtfo. The fact that there is a 1/10 score on here by a 'decent christian' who was appalled by the film, left and asked for their money back, only helps sell how great this film is. My ONLY criticism is that Tessa Thompson's character becomes too much of a 'prize to be won' by the protagonist in the third act, would have loved to see her character develop more beyond the moral compass. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
zmgalen2000Jul 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although the film has a myriad of satirical moments, its slow progression, poor visuals, cliché moments, and overall weirdness deter from its potential. This film, marketed as a comedy, wound up being a cult film surrounding naked equisapiens (horse/human mutant creatures), irrelevant to the plot's central foundation. Furthermore, the CGI/costuming pertaining to these beasts was adequate at best, making it highly unbelievable.

Moments not pertaining to the cult were often dull, as the majority of the comedic moments/significant plot points were revealed in the second trailer, causing the first two-thirds of the movie to progress slowly. Moreover, the film was dragged out far too much, and the remaining twenty-some-odd minutes felt strenuous and ingenuine.

Finally, the lip-synching for each of the character's "white voice" was extremely poor, especially when the voice was loud and define while the character's lips hardly, if at all, moved. All in all, this movie may have some appeal to those who want a taste of something different or enjoy a cult film, but to most, the convolution of elements protruding in a multitude of directions results in nothing but unnecessary disinterest and perplexion.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Skeeter206Jul 26, 2018
Awesome movie, much more than your average comedy, has social, political and economic commentary on levels not usually seen in movies. Takes a very unexpected turn in it's final act. Most importantly, it is consistently hilarious.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Bears_n_StuffJul 28, 2018
A movie for our time and the most original thing you'll see this summer. Amazing debut by the director is bolstered by everyone (even Danny Glover!) buying in.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
WillSullivanAug 7, 2018
I run a film review blog over at Baltic Avenue Productions called Walkin' Talkin' Pictures. I'd encourage you to go there to check out the full review but here's an excerpt: Sorry to Bother You is a pretty mixed bag. My gut impression is itI run a film review blog over at Baltic Avenue Productions called Walkin' Talkin' Pictures. I'd encourage you to go there to check out the full review but here's an excerpt: Sorry to Bother You is a pretty mixed bag. My gut impression is it will get better with age. It is written in a very reactionary moment in American history and it captures truths of that moment that we are too close to see or understand. My guess is it will improve with multiple viewings. The plot is so bombastic and scattered it’s hard to walk out with the message while you’re trying to track the story. The biggest hesitation to I have to recommend this film is it’s challenging. It’s not fun to watch. You spend most of it feeling uncomfortable and you walk out feeling dirty. Ideologically I think Sorry to Bother You is some harsh, harsh medicine America needs to take, but Riley’s message might have gotten in the way of sexing it up enough so we could take it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DrBlahBlahAug 14, 2018
One of the most original and socially relevant films in years, this is the first great movie of 2018. (Sorry, Black Panther...) The writing is entertaining, insightful and thrilling, and the playful visuals only enhance the surreality of thisOne of the most original and socially relevant films in years, this is the first great movie of 2018. (Sorry, Black Panther...) The writing is entertaining, insightful and thrilling, and the playful visuals only enhance the surreality of this all-too-realistic world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
bradylynnnnOct 10, 2018
I really liked this movie, and so did my friend, but the ending was REALLY weird and took an unexpected turn. I liked how they put in a twist but it was very weird and I didn't know how to react to it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
GreatMartinAug 3, 2018
Just as I think I have seen the worst movie of the year another one comes along and this was recommended (but then I forgot he liked “Dumb and Dumber”).

I was debating between seeing “Blindspotting” and “Sorry to Bother You” but Allen (heck,
Just as I think I have seen the worst movie of the year another one comes along and this was recommended (but then I forgot he liked “Dumb and Dumber”).

I was debating between seeing “Blindspotting” and “Sorry to Bother You” but Allen (heck, I might as well blame him, too) wanted to see a comedy so Sorry it was.

“Sorry to Bother You” is being ‘sold’ as a comedy/satire with Cassius Green (Lakeith Stanfield) an African-American who lives in his Uncle’s (Terry Crews) garage converted into a studio where the garage door opens when he is making love to his girlfriend Detroit, (Tessa Thompson) who as an artist is all over the place including ‘performance art’, wearing outsize earrings with a message, eye makeup with a ‘tear’ constantly changing and hair multitude colors.

The first 15 minutes is entertaining presenting the set up of Cassius getting a telemarketing job and being advised by a cubicle neighbor (Danny Glover) to use a ‘white voice’ (dubbed by David Cross) and, almost immediately, becomes a huge success. At this point the movie becomes like Detroit’s art, all over the place, no particular point of view, throwing whatever at the screen hoping something sticks.

The director and screenwriter, Boots Riley, presents the most popular show on TV called “I Got The S*it Kicked Out Of Me” which is pure violence, there is a company called Worry Free that is experimenting turning employees into half horses, half men (nothing about women but promising the male workers a ‘horse’s penis’), run by Armie Hammer who introduces the world of Slavery, plus telemarketers going on strike lead by Steven Yeun calling the group Left Eye. There is a ‘joke’ of people being slammed in the head with a Cola that, once introduced, and not being funny going on and on which is hard to do in a movie that runs a 105 minutes.
Funny? Not really except for that garage door opening scene. Satire? So scattered and/or subtle it gets lost.

Sorry, unless you want to be bored out of your mind don’t go to see “Sorry to Bother You”.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
moviemitch96Jul 14, 2018
It showed enough decent promise in its first half, but once the second half rolls around, it not only really began to drag for me, but it also just became unexplainably pointless, aimless, and bizarre. Lakeith Stanfield is a great up andIt showed enough decent promise in its first half, but once the second half rolls around, it not only really began to drag for me, but it also just became unexplainably pointless, aimless, and bizarre. Lakeith Stanfield is a great up and coming talent, and that's still the case with his performance in this film. However, I certainly hope that his future projects aren't anything like this film. Admittedly, the many scenes in which white actors' voices (mainly consisting of funnymen such as David Cross and Patton Oswalt) are dubbed over the African-American actors' voices in this film didn't really do much for me either, as it simply just appeared odd and poorly dubbed and not in very good tune with the movement of the actors' lips. Furthermore, even appearances from the always delightful Armie Hammer, as well as Danny Glover and Terry Crews to name a couple others simply couldn't save this film for me. Overall, like I said before, it's bizarre, and not in a good way if you ask me, as that second half ruined what little good there was in the first half for me and really made the entire film feel really uneven and weird just for weird's sake. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJul 14, 2018
LaKeith is great, but who would've though that this would turn into a mix between Cronenberg ("Videodrome") and Cheech & Chong ("Nice Dreams")?
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
eberman123Jul 23, 2018
Well made movie with an important, poignant social commentary. It is also very different in a good way. Reccommended.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
Eight827Jul 15, 2018
Did I see a different movie than nearly every critic out there? Original does not automatically equal good. Social commentary/satire does not automatically make a movie good. It took a very thin premise in the first place, and attempted toDid I see a different movie than nearly every critic out there? Original does not automatically equal good. Social commentary/satire does not automatically make a movie good. It took a very thin premise in the first place, and attempted to stretch it across an entire movie. The movie sucked. Hard. Flat direction, zero energy, moved scene to scene leaving you going "Ok...", you could hear the awkwardness in the audience as joke after joke fell flat, as scene cut after scene cut fell flat (except for the first 20 minutes which are genuinely not bad) cliche racial humor, extremely on the nose social commentary. It was just bad, and it's amazing that it's a critical darling. I suggest following the critics who realize this is garbage, because yes, it was bad. Just plodding and beating you over the head. And it's not the surrealism that got me either, that was interesting. It's the terrible flat direction/editing and cliche writing. The movie is gimmicky and tacky. Even the way the overdubbing of the white voices is recorded comes off like something you'd hear in The Hangover. In other words, it's poorly done. Even if it's trying to be absurdist, it falls flat. I'm all for its message and what it's trying to say, but this is not even close to the best we can do. It's painfully obvious this is a guy who is not competent at directing. This is Boots Riley's debut and it shows. Open your eyes guys...it's bad. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
3
handersonJul 15, 2018
I wanted to like this movie. I love the individual actors. But WTF did I just watch? One of the worst movies I've seen in years. Maybe it was too high of expectations but this movie starts off ok and then takes a sharp turn towards Crazytown.I wanted to like this movie. I love the individual actors. But WTF did I just watch? One of the worst movies I've seen in years. Maybe it was too high of expectations but this movie starts off ok and then takes a sharp turn towards Crazytown. Not a fan at all. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
2
bjemailxxxxJul 16, 2018
This movie falls flat on so many levels. I felt like it was the result of a group of Millennials, locked in a room throwing out individual scenes, and laughing hysterically at the thought of each. By the way, these individuals have alwaysThis movie falls flat on so many levels. I felt like it was the result of a group of Millennials, locked in a room throwing out individual scenes, and laughing hysterically at the thought of each. By the way, these individuals have always been told that everything they have ever done was amazing. They have never been told that they created crap, and if they did, their parents (or some adult in the room) fixed it. I love, absolutely love surrealist art and satire (Dali, Jarmusch, and Rodriguez are favorites). One of the elements of both surrealism and satire is subtle absurdity. This movie has none of that, in fact it looks to grab every social warrior cliche and up-chuck it in our faces. It gets 2 stars because of the lead's earrings, which are beyond huge (really yooooouuuge) and always carry some social justice sentence subtitle, just in case you missed it in the trite words and images flashing across the screen. The art work is also very nice, and some scene set ups, that is the background scenery is also very interesting. However the movie does not work as a cohesive movie moving from scene to scene with an actual integrated story. At first we really care about the characters, because they are likable, Opening scenes are good. then we realize we could have watched paint dry for 1hr 45min and gotten more intellectual stimulation from that exercise. Next there is the offense factor, I'm not some old biddy clutching the pearls, but the F bomb is used as an adjective. Now that is the way it's used, if you ever take public transportation, at least in the NYC area, however you hope there is at least an entertaining story in between the F bombs. The F bomb is not where the offense ends, as a black person, we all know when there are times that you get a better response in speaking very clearly, and dropping all signs and residue of colloquialism. However increase this by a power of 1000 for the movie. It's in the commercial with Danny Glover, so this is not a spoiler. The over the top high five scene is guffaw worthy if you have ever seen this go on for a interminable amount of time in real life, which I have. However offense comes in really trying force making race an issue, when it's not. The gratuitous use of the N word as well as the word booshe (bourgeosie). Any black person can be shamed by being called part of the bourgeoisie, or booshee, noted by virtue of living in a comfortable clean, well furnished home, having a comfortable car, and dressing nicely (without necessarily dressing urban). Clearly (based on social justice rules) all black folk should be part of the struggle, and not have the best they can afford. They should ascribe to some socialist vision of giving their excess to the guy who doesn't get up for work at 5:30am every day, and who doesn't work 2 or 3 jobs. That guy deserves it. Next offense, 'the man' and his capitalistic ways, making money and making people work like slaves, while promising them a better life. When they can have him taking care of them. Wait is that 'the Welfare'? But I digress, let's keep our focus on evil corporate America. Next offense, gratuitous use of woman in her underwear, or otherwise levels of undress. I could not understand why the lead Tessa Thompson is basically only in varying styles of underwear for most of the movie. This is off-set by a performance art display (for no apparent reason) where she is all but naked. She is then pelted with various items, include red dye filled water ballons. Why? We don't know why. The movie doesn't know why. Oh the offense goes on to a scene where rap is reduced to literally two words, one is the N word, the other begins with S and easily describes this move. However our lead is gleefully cheered on by a crowd of white individuals who repeat the refrain for like 2 minutes of the movie. Why? Well we don't know why, I guess that is the satire part, because I can swear I saw Jay-Z do the exact same thing, with the exact same words. Or may that was N word in Paris, that is one more word. All this foo-foo-la goes on. Why? well it's very profound you know. A statement about where we are. Let the people revolt! Stand up against the man! Don't be a booshee sell out! Don't be a slave to capitalistic ideals! The ending, well now we are somewhere where the main focus seems to be to zoom in, or otherwise comment on the male member. That is not to even mention the scene where people are in various states of copulation for no apparent reason. I'm a fan of Dali's Jeune vierge auto-****par sa propre chastete, so that's not subtle, but this movie, is inane, in turns not funny, not clever.not insightful, does not say anything about today's culture, misses the mark There are so many better things you could do with your time, like wash your car, or pull weeds from the yard or sit at home and pick your nose (that's my not humor humor). Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
1
texbudJul 15, 2018
This movie is offensive in so many ways to so many people , all in the name of, satire and dark humor, we are senior, white Christians and after 15 minutes of fbombs and racist innuendos, left and demanded our money back! I think it could beThis movie is offensive in so many ways to so many people , all in the name of, satire and dark humor, we are senior, white Christians and after 15 minutes of fbombs and racist innuendos, left and demanded our money back! I think it could be the leading offensive movie of the year, to ALL decent people! Expand
3 of 30 users found this helpful327
All this user's reviews
7
AcolapreteJul 14, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While its a very well executed picture, the ideas are not novel by any means, and it only manages retreads the same lines as other European directors (such as Godard) in a much more American friendly way. The plot "twist" was obvious, not the content itself but its very existence, i.e., the slow discovery of "the horror" a-la heart of darkness at the center of the film's core concepts. In other respects, the troubling ways it romanticizes political violence could be ignored safely if they were used only as narrative action, but instead they are presented as the only feasible solution to this problem, with even the strong suggestion of the proletariat literally killing their capitalist masters. Its good that Americans are finally being introduced to Marxism in popular culture, but not in such a heavily ideologically driven way, and it would've benefited the film to be closer to Das Kapital rather than the Communist Manifesto. Magical Realism, Absurdism, and surrealism have their place, but not in this day and age, with this subject matter. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ProteusJul 21, 2018
WorryFree Inc. is a Silicon Valley start up featured in this movie which provides housing food and clothing to anybody who wants it. In return they work at menial jobs.

Well y'all that pretty much describes 90% of California. CA has become a
WorryFree Inc. is a Silicon Valley start up featured in this movie which provides housing food and clothing to anybody who wants it. In return they work at menial jobs.

Well y'all that pretty much describes 90% of California. CA has become a welfare state with a few super rich people and a whole bunch of poor, lazy, low class moochers who survive off the work of others.

The whole state is going downhill at a record pace. Looking at 2030-2040 for full implosion.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
QLA92Jul 26, 2018
The performances are uniformly strong, the story bursts with originality and the script is provocative and hilarious, but this social commentary loses some of its persuasive power as the plot shifts from relatable to ridiculous.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
silverrocketAug 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first 10 minutes ring up like a low budget comedy...nevermind the music videos played before depicting a white rich person getting decapitated, which is fine. I dont care, I really dont. I suspected it was related to the movie but, not until I realized the actor in the music video was the "white voice" our hero uses early on the make the social and financial transformation he experiences. "Sound like you have a ferarii in the driveway and all your bills are paid...like white people do". I dont quote precisely, but close enough for crappy movies. The attempt to combine low budget comedy w social commentary and artsy awareness/quirkyness winds up just being tired cliche', on all points. Starving artist, poor to rich, turning your back on the little people for money, and ultimate redemption. White racial insensitivity, demonic buisnessmen either white or black w "white voice" tearing the world appart through marketed self imposed slavery where our hereo winds up working for big money. All of which who partake in "worryfreeliving" of course are white too...which is basically slavery. The only new aspect is the genetic manipulation of humans for use in labor half horse half man. Avoid this movie unkess you want to bask in its wokeness and laugh with other woke people to absolutely not a funny movie. It literally is a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LatinCritic13Aug 13, 2018
Directed by Cali Rapper Boots Riley and his film called Sorry to Bother You is a movie that will make you laugh and even trip of how genuinely clever and weird of what’s going on in the real world using his satirical approach to mock today’sDirected by Cali Rapper Boots Riley and his film called Sorry to Bother You is a movie that will make you laugh and even trip of how genuinely clever and weird of what’s going on in the real world using his satirical approach to mock today’s climate. The acting, directing, and writing of this film pleased all around film is what made it so satisfying for most general audience members to remember and I had to say that it’s probably in the same psychological level as mother! & Get Out combined but taking aim at hostile work environments. Definitely worth seeing it! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
2livinlifeOct 11, 2018
I absolutely loved this movie. It was original, quirky, frightening, funny, unexpected, and thought-provoking. Cinema at it's best.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewJul 19, 2018
Nothing seems to help people understand humanity’s one problem of the need to give up possessions. Even I admit to being more of a material person than a people person, as I almost always get too concentrated on my own thoughts, often aboutNothing seems to help people understand humanity’s one problem of the need to give up possessions. Even I admit to being more of a material person than a people person, as I almost always get too concentrated on my own thoughts, often about movies, Pokémon, or my ideal future marriage. Consequently, it means I can get irritable whenever common people say to me day to day the same monotonous, “hi, how are you?” That is why I find the different perspectives offered by Sorry to Bother You so valuable—it’s one of those movies I guarantee will hit your inimitable perspective due to its uncomfortably acute social relevance.

Its counter-cultural artistry kicks off by showing violent protests by underpaid workers, the future of labor specified including as we follow the protagonist, Cassius “Cash” Green, through that very riot against the company he works for… Regalview. In his tread through the sea of angry civilians, a thrown cola can strikes his forehead, starting a public trend of people in afro wigs with a cola can taped on. This almost reminds me of the nude Trump statue which exploded over social media, an ugly subject matter that burns your retinas, but frankly, that defines art—controversy. If your art is inoffensive, you’re doing it wrong!

Part of this film’s offensive nature lies in Cash’s girlfriend, Detroit, who keeps changing her earrings to complement her feminist shirts that clarify her messages to whomever stares at her chest. Hard to believe that this is Boots Riley’s directorial/screenwriting debut, for he succeeds at delivering a strong moral that starts at Cash’s fear of the universe’s eventual end. He combats this fear beside Detroit as they try enjoying sex in their garage home… that is, until the door pops open to the whole neighborhood.

I’ll help you better understand. Let’s say you find a street artist whose work features splatter paint of various colors. He tells you he aimlessly threw colors on with the intention of you saying what the image looks like to you, like a therapist holding out splotch patterns for you to name. Thus, the art piece reflects you more so than the artist, a similar approach that this film utilizes in a nontraditional sense. In one sequence, a gaggle of Caucasians force Cash to rap, which he sucks at until he spurts out the same profane words repeatedly, to the crowd’s approval. Does that mean he has become too European-American for his own good? Has he met failure to master his own kind based on how other people defined them as? You must decide, this movie isn’t going to say it for you. There’s true art right there. It’s no simple direct interpretation, rather than you read art, art reads you; then discussion arises alongside a disagreeing opinion.

Unfortunately, the artistry is not perfect, as little of it comes from cinematographer Doug Emmett‘s troublesome camera movements. While the camera continually goes out of focus, bland lighting setups lack the same level of spray-painted contrast as the chaotic colors of the night scenes. Photography allows you a glance through an individual’s eyes, yet the cinematic atmosphere here appears too ordinary without a proper amount of context to be open to interpretation.

Though it’s not anywhere near bad enough to hurt the whole production, as set designer Jason Kisvarday establishes the blue office space of Regalview to give it a feel of a monotonous prison. Several stories above the low-level work area, the high office looks machine-constructed, only accessible by a fancy decorated elevator big to signify relative insignificance. Funny enough, more so than the artistic visuals, you‘ll most remember the words spoken, which always stay consistent even when the film masterfully shifts genres. Such memorable phrases include “Stick to the Script,” the unapologetic slogan of Regalview that motivates workers to do things such as turn a client’s cancer story into a selling point. Do you think that this is acceptable?

Everyone calls art subjective, however, I think I need to clarify that statement a bit. While whatever a film personally says to you based on your unique past experiences is subjective, the quality of practical elements, including writing, acting, and cinematography require objectionable analysis. If a film has a personal touch, then the product that comes from the heart can speak to someone spiritually and initiate individual growth.

Now here comes what Sorry to Bother You meant to me: It provides a solution that says giving up things causes intimacy. A popular quote states, “People were created to be loved. Things were created to be used. The reason why the world is in chaos, is because things are being loved and people are being used.” The priority of industries should help people; thus, we must kindly give our two cents to those running the puppet strings of their employees who right now are just beating dead horses.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GrantD243Jul 20, 2018
Sorry to Bother You is a comedy that has what I thought would be a fairly unimaginative premise: a black guy starts using a white voice at his telemarketer job and starts landing lots of sales. Is there potential for laughs in this premise?Sorry to Bother You is a comedy that has what I thought would be a fairly unimaginative premise: a black guy starts using a white voice at his telemarketer job and starts landing lots of sales. Is there potential for laughs in this premise? Yes, but I can't say my expectations were very high past that. However, I was very, very surprised by this film. There is a fair bit of office comedy and at times it feels like an episode of Atlanta, but there is also a lot of clever social commentary in here that also makes you laugh. And, frankly, I think that's the best way to fit social commentary into a film. Expect to spend a decent portion of the film trying to figure out exactly how this film it going to end, because it really takes an interesting, and weird, turn towards the end of the story. I can't divulge too much information about it without getting into spoilers, but it's a twist I didn't see coming and I was very satisfied with it. However, this film is not for everyone. The humor won't land with everyone, and how weird the story gets will certainly put some people off. There is also a lot of adult content in here so, uh, don't bring your kids. Overall, this film takes a lot of risks and not all of them work out, but I really enjoyed what the team behind Sorry to Bother You was able to accomplish. It has a fun, weird, and unpredictable story with interesting characters and an equally intriguing world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
natedeugJul 25, 2018
This dark comedy is like the best of the Twilight Zone, weaving through the uncanny valley of the near tomorrow in a matter of fact way while the story gets more and more bizarre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tarasanagelAug 6, 2018
Great Social Commentary. Hits on so many problems in America today, notice the guy living in his car, brushing his teeth in the side mirror. The game show in the movie makes me think of the new one coming out in real life, where young peopleGreat Social Commentary. Hits on so many problems in America today, notice the guy living in his car, brushing his teeth in the side mirror. The game show in the movie makes me think of the new one coming out in real life, where young people can get their student loans paid off if they win. I thought of it as the Poverty Olympics. Also shows the reality of private prisons as a pipeline for slavery.This is not a slapstick or regular comedy, there is a distinct message, Anti-Capitalism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Slovenly_MuseAug 14, 2018
I've heard a lot of criticism that this movie tries to tackle too many different ideas and comes out a mess. I disagree! Boots Riley is demonstrating how many overwhelming, pervasive, disparate-seeming problems in our society actually stemI've heard a lot of criticism that this movie tries to tackle too many different ideas and comes out a mess. I disagree! Boots Riley is demonstrating how many overwhelming, pervasive, disparate-seeming problems in our society actually stem from the same fixable root. It's weird and wonderful, and even its most bizarre twists remain laser-focused on the underlying truth of the worker/employer relationship. This film is disturbing and inspiring, and unlike many films which aim for social commentary, offers actual solutions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WonderZOct 3, 2018
Watched the movie using boxxy software. You have GOT to see This. You might not be in the mood for it, but get in the mood. it is Mind bending. Best to avoid the trailer - it gives away too much. If you want to know what this is about it'sWatched the movie using boxxy software. You have GOT to see This. You might not be in the mood for it, but get in the mood. it is Mind bending. Best to avoid the trailer - it gives away too much. If you want to know what this is about it's basically Being John Malkovich + South Park + This is America + The Matrix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronhalmansOct 3, 2018
Sorry to Bother You is an extremely odd commentary on capitalism and the way people handle their urges of greed and selfishness. Sometimes we only care when things happen to us. Just wish this film did more with what it was throwing at theSorry to Bother You is an extremely odd commentary on capitalism and the way people handle their urges of greed and selfishness. Sometimes we only care when things happen to us. Just wish this film did more with what it was throwing at the audience. The color pallets were incredible, definitely a well shot film that I can appreciate. Very original 79/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ibarixOct 14, 2018
I just can't believe all this hype. This movie is pure BS. 33 minutes in and I still haven't laughed once. People obviously lack sense of humor when this is "hilarious" to them. The movie is so forgettable no one will even mention it in 6I just can't believe all this hype. This movie is pure BS. 33 minutes in and I still haven't laughed once. People obviously lack sense of humor when this is "hilarious" to them. The movie is so forgettable no one will even mention it in 6 months. Mark my words. There are some good ideas but this is nowhere near being a comedy. It's plain stupid. Do people giving 10's even know what a 10 movie looks like? I'm amazed.
PS 49 minutes in and it's still stupid... I'll give it a 2/10 because of the good ideas, everything else sucked so hard it's unbelievable. Don't believe the hype. This movie is sh*t.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
justwibiOct 16, 2018
FUNNY! Original, Ensemble cast, what a weird story that tells a lot of things!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PeterAlexanderOct 16, 2018
In what is potentially the strangest film of the year so far, director Boots Riley paints a goofy yet harrowing depiction of the American dream. At times however, the film feels too absurd for its own good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews