Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
22
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
hajinJul 26, 2018
This movie starts off really strong. The first 40 minutes or so is fantastic -- it's quirky, but absolutely hilarious. There's solid pacing, some great scenes, and just a great vibe to it. It might have a message, but it's self aware in a wayThis movie starts off really strong. The first 40 minutes or so is fantastic -- it's quirky, but absolutely hilarious. There's solid pacing, some great scenes, and just a great vibe to it. It might have a message, but it's self aware in a way and keeps it light. But then, the tone starts to shift and the comedy starts to fade out. The jokes become less frequent and not as funny. The main plot drags a little and a few subplots that never have a payoff pop up. And then near the very end, it just really takes a nose dive in quality and gives up funny and quirky for just flat out weird, but - again - weird with no real payoff. It started off so great, but it feels like they didn't really know exactly what to do with the story in the second half. It's a shame though, because this would be a classic if it had stayed more tonally consistent and there were better writing in the second half. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesJul 13, 2018
It is enjoyable before taking a sharp left turn into WTF territory. But through and though, Dame Tessa Thompson’s shirts and earrings are the real MVP.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
stjude_bruhJul 16, 2018
Many times, movies that don't deserve to be critically lambasted (i.e. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword) end up being critically lambasted. Simultaneously, movies that don't deserve critical praise (i.e. Wonder Woman)  end up receiving a heapMany times, movies that don't deserve to be critically lambasted (i.e. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword) end up being critically lambasted. Simultaneously, movies that don't deserve critical praise (i.e. Wonder Woman)  end up receiving a heap of critical praise. When I see movies receive critical praise, I become more interested in seeing them. I know I said that I don't check reviews, but every time I get on the internet its hard to avoid seeing such content.

I unfortunately saw reviews and commercials that raved about how good and true Sorry To Bother You was. It was described as a fresh, relevant, and hilarious take on the sci-fi/comedy genre that meant so much to what events are transpiring in our world today. I'm guessing that, based on the director, actors involved, and just just watching the commercials seeing Lakeith Stanfield doing a "white voice", it had something to do about race. Whatever it's hidden message about racial equality was, it got lost behind direction that was non-parralel almost on a Gotti level and a crazy twist that was a major WTF. I don't think the twist had anything to do with our modern world; if it did, then i missed it completely.

I will first begin with good things since this is a negative review that should end with the bad. The good aspects included Lakeith Stanfield's standout performance as the main character Cassius "Cash" Green. He was able to transition from a non-social loser who carries himself as a timid individual to an entitled selfish prick when he earns the promotion. That is not a spoiler; it is explicitly in the trailers that he moves up the ladder in his job. He does a great job in creating a character that makes us think about how we would become if we were to leave behind our friends and beliefs in pursuit of wealth and personal gain. It made me beg the question as well, even though the situation Cash was in is definitely unrealistic. It is a movie after all. Stanfield's performance along with the rest of the cast is the main standout moment in the movie. That about does it. Time to move on to the bad stuff.

In my opinion, just about everything else with this movie is bad. The directing is misguided and all over the place, which is also bad credit towards the editing. The  transitions between each scene make the film feel that it was made using Microsoft PowerPoint slides. All these different fades and transition effects are misplaced, which is distracting and harms the focus that viewers should be placing on the movie. The directing isn't the only bad thing; the overall message and plot of the film is unknown. I have no idea what the movie is trying to say about "white voice" and "black voice". As established in the trailers, Cash is able to move up the echelon of importance in his workplace by using his "white voice" to have his phone clients pay attention to him. He seems to move up the ladder very fast, but the film loses whatever message it was trying to parlay from there. Many of these films that criticize race relations in our nations only point out issues with African-Americans, and they seem to be exaggerated. It can get annoying when people continue to complain about issues by being preachy in entertainment only; it takes away from the joy of entertainment.

After I walked out of the theatre, I was very disappointed with the film. There was so much hype surrounding it that I could not avoid any press or reviews. I tried to, as they have altered my expectations in the past, but I could not avoid it. I myself had been interested in seeing the movie after watching the trailers; the premise looked interesting, and I am a big fan of Lakeith. However, the message of the film was not clear to me. It got lost within a large array of unnecessary content that did not push the film forward. There is one major shocking and disturbing twist at the end, and all I have to say about that is WTF.

Overall, I would say that this movie is not worth your $20, $12, $2, or your time. If you never watch it, you won't miss a thing. 

Rating wise, I would give Sorry To Bother You 5 stars out of 10. Just don't.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
WillSullivanAug 7, 2018
I run a film review blog over at Baltic Avenue Productions called Walkin' Talkin' Pictures. I'd encourage you to go there to check out the full review but here's an excerpt: Sorry to Bother You is a pretty mixed bag. My gut impression is itI run a film review blog over at Baltic Avenue Productions called Walkin' Talkin' Pictures. I'd encourage you to go there to check out the full review but here's an excerpt: Sorry to Bother You is a pretty mixed bag. My gut impression is it will get better with age. It is written in a very reactionary moment in American history and it captures truths of that moment that we are too close to see or understand. My guess is it will improve with multiple viewings. The plot is so bombastic and scattered it’s hard to walk out with the message while you’re trying to track the story. The biggest hesitation to I have to recommend this film is it’s challenging. It’s not fun to watch. You spend most of it feeling uncomfortable and you walk out feeling dirty. Ideologically I think Sorry to Bother You is some harsh, harsh medicine America needs to take, but Riley’s message might have gotten in the way of sexing it up enough so we could take it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
moviemitch96Jul 14, 2018
It showed enough decent promise in its first half, but once the second half rolls around, it not only really began to drag for me, but it also just became unexplainably pointless, aimless, and bizarre. Lakeith Stanfield is a great up andIt showed enough decent promise in its first half, but once the second half rolls around, it not only really began to drag for me, but it also just became unexplainably pointless, aimless, and bizarre. Lakeith Stanfield is a great up and coming talent, and that's still the case with his performance in this film. However, I certainly hope that his future projects aren't anything like this film. Admittedly, the many scenes in which white actors' voices (mainly consisting of funnymen such as David Cross and Patton Oswalt) are dubbed over the African-American actors' voices in this film didn't really do much for me either, as it simply just appeared odd and poorly dubbed and not in very good tune with the movement of the actors' lips. Furthermore, even appearances from the always delightful Armie Hammer, as well as Danny Glover and Terry Crews to name a couple others simply couldn't save this film for me. Overall, like I said before, it's bizarre, and not in a good way if you ask me, as that second half ruined what little good there was in the first half for me and really made the entire film feel really uneven and weird just for weird's sake. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
ProteusJul 21, 2018
WorryFree Inc. is a Silicon Valley start up featured in this movie which provides housing food and clothing to anybody who wants it. In return they work at menial jobs.

Well y'all that pretty much describes 90% of California. CA has become a
WorryFree Inc. is a Silicon Valley start up featured in this movie which provides housing food and clothing to anybody who wants it. In return they work at menial jobs.

Well y'all that pretty much describes 90% of California. CA has become a welfare state with a few super rich people and a whole bunch of poor, lazy, low class moochers who survive off the work of others.

The whole state is going downhill at a record pace. Looking at 2030-2040 for full implosion.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Oct 22, 2018
Certainly original. Certainly ambitious. Certainly pretentious and at times quite funny but I think this film tried to cover more than what its story could reach and although in a way I like its presentation, I felt that it was far from doingCertainly original. Certainly ambitious. Certainly pretentious and at times quite funny but I think this film tried to cover more than what its story could reach and although in a way I like its presentation, I felt that it was far from doing something more memorable.
I don't want people to misunderstand me because the film is good but comes a point when it gets lost and the message despite the innovative presentation is not new and is not like you need to be innovative every time you present a message already seen but I feel when the story reached the climax point it loses sight of what it was trying to say in a moment and it becomes more a psychedelic journey than a smart comedy as it seemed in the first instance.

But I can definitely recommend that you see it. Because I think that each one of you as a viewer will have their own vision of what this film is presenting and maybe you will find it more attractive.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EludiumQ36Oct 24, 2018
The trailers for this do good to bury the topic of interest. There's a whole sub-plot that you don't even expect. But the underlying theme is a guy in a community lacking opportunity (Oakland) who asks The Big Questions and wants to make aThe trailers for this do good to bury the topic of interest. There's a whole sub-plot that you don't even expect. But the underlying theme is a guy in a community lacking opportunity (Oakland) who asks The Big Questions and wants to make a real difference. And he does so in a way he and you don't expect. It's not great but it's decent enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Read More | The Terror Season 1 (2018) | tv 32 pollici bianco samsung