STX Entertainment | Release Date: August 24, 2018
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
20
Negative:
34
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
Tss5078Aug 31, 2018
I really didn't know what to expect from The Happytime Murders, and that's why I went to see it. I wasn't sure if I'd be getting Team America or Roger Rabbit, maybe even a combination of the two. Despite the tagline, that the film wasn'tI really didn't know what to expect from The Happytime Murders, and that's why I went to see it. I wasn't sure if I'd be getting Team America or Roger Rabbit, maybe even a combination of the two. Despite the tagline, that the film wasn't suitable for children, I did expect some level of juvenile humor, but I thought if it has a edge to it and if the mystery is somewhat compelling, maybe it would surprise me, it didn't. Much in the same way that Roger Rabbit had humans and toons living together, with an extreme bias against toons, this world has humans and puppets living together, with a bias against puppets. Phil Phillips (Ryan Tran) claim to fame was as the first puppet to be a police officer, but now he's washed up, and it's brother's fame and his TV show, The Happytime Family, that overshadows him. Phil doesn't care about anything anymore until someone starts killing off the Happytime gang, including his brother, that's when he wants back in, even if his human partner, Connie Edwards (Melissa McCarthy) wants nothing to do with him anymore. The tagline said this film was not intended for kids, but I disagree, because that's exactly who this film is intended for. The comedy is nothing but sex and jokes aimed at a very young crowd. There is no way that adults are going to find most of the comedy in this film even remotely funny. As for the "dramatic" side of the story, the mystery isn't such a mystery, it's so simplistic that you'll know before the first murder even happens. But what about the star of the film, Melissa McCarthy? Well, she plays the same role in just about every film doesn't she? Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, here she just adds to the futility of everything. The bottom line on The Happytime murders is that the story is too basic, the backstory is a complete rip off of Roger Rabbit, and the jokes are so low-brow, that I think even Trey Parker and Matt Stone would pass on using them in a similar film. The true joke here is that this film was ever made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
aguila9Nov 19, 2018
You know why Team America was a comedy hit? Quality and dedication to the actual puppetry; Convincing and developed story-line and characters; It was actually funny to the point where lie-actors could have done the lines (the puppetry wasYou know why Team America was a comedy hit? Quality and dedication to the actual puppetry; Convincing and developed story-line and characters; It was actually funny to the point where lie-actors could have done the lines (the puppetry was there to make it even funnier). 'Happytime Murders' misses on all three levels. You get generic and completely amateur-time puppets both in look and delivery. A carbon-copy of the Roger Rabbit movie, and just brief setups for quick and stand-alone jokes or situations which kinda miss or get tiring halfway through the movie. If you only see the first 20 minutes you'd walk-away somewhat entertained. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SturmhardtNov 24, 2018
It really is a funny movie. It's not the best comedy in the world and it wasn't perfect, but it's silly stupid humor at its best and me and the wife really enjoyed it. It doesn't deserve the >30% rating. If you like the trailer, give it a shot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JDX_AwesomeAug 26, 2018
I knew that this movie wasn’t going to be a masterpiece or anything, but I thought it would be at least interesting, and it was. I thought that all the puppets looked really good, the puppetry was great as well. The performances (includingI knew that this movie wasn’t going to be a masterpiece or anything, but I thought it would be at least interesting, and it was. I thought that all the puppets looked really good, the puppetry was great as well. The performances (including voices for the puppets) were fine, they were passable. The murder mystery has actually interesting and had a cleverly and satisfying ending. There were even a good action scene or two. I also like the world this movie builds. The puppet ‘racism’ is a surprisingly effective social commentary. Now here’s when it gets bad. Nearly every joke in this movie falls totally flat. There were a few visual gags that made me smile, there a few decent one liners that helped to build the world a bit, but all the crude jokes were just awful. I think if they played this off more seriously, this could’ve been actually good. Or maybe if they wrote a murder mystery comedy with a social commentary on race and it just happens to be in a world with puppets. Who knows? I think the world is interesting and they could definitely make a movie that takes place there, but a different tone, plot, and even genre. So, overall, not great, but still enjoyable, in my opinion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Daniellockhart0Sep 14, 2018
What is this monstrosity of a film. Its dumb the humor is horrible and the script is awful this was a waste of time and money its not worth the ticket the only good thing about this movie is when it ends well thats all the good in this monstrosity.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
TVJerryAug 28, 2018
Even though this is NOT a Muppets movie (and lost a suit by the makers of "Sesame Street"), the director is Jim Henson's son Brian. It takes place in a world where puppets and humans coexist, but the stuffed creatures are largely scorned.Even though this is NOT a Muppets movie (and lost a suit by the makers of "Sesame Street"), the director is Jim Henson's son Brian. It takes place in a world where puppets and humans coexist, but the stuffed creatures are largely scorned. When the cast of a popular TV show starts being killed, a washed-up puppet detective and his old partner (Melissa McCarthy) team up to solve the case. The selling point (and potential source of much raunchy humor) is the streetwise, foul-mouthed, even X-rated approach to puppets. Notice I said "potential." Even though the energy keeps it from being boring, it's never funny. When will writers learn that F-bombs don't make a line hilarious, especially when it's used in almost every sentence. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
IndiefilmloverAug 24, 2018
This low brow comedy has a few crude laughs. There's even a story to follow and a not too subtle message about tolerance. If you have a disdain for "serious" movies, you might even find it worth your time. This is particularly true if yourThis low brow comedy has a few crude laughs. There's even a story to follow and a not too subtle message about tolerance. If you have a disdain for "serious" movies, you might even find it worth your time. This is particularly true if your air conditioning is on the fritz on a hot summer night. Just be sure to keep you expectations in check. Everyone else is best to keep away. There's no need to stay for the long closing credits which pad the film's 91 minute running time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesAug 24, 2018
I thought these trailers looked truly awful, so maybe that low bar made me not totally hate my experience. It’s low-brow and one note, but watchable. Take that for what it’s worth.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
jameswaltersAug 28, 2018
Greatest sex scene in the history of cinema!! The film is worth watching for that alone!! And then the homage to "Fatal Attraction" is absolutely incredible!!! The Carpet doesn't match the Drapes!!! Have they ever?!?! Will they ever?!?! NotGreatest sex scene in the history of cinema!! The film is worth watching for that alone!! And then the homage to "Fatal Attraction" is absolutely incredible!!! The Carpet doesn't match the Drapes!!! Have they ever?!?! Will they ever?!?! Not likely!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
twall3Aug 26, 2018
This is what happens when a creative genius' son shows the world what a pervert he is. Should have kept it a secret.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
JLuis_001Aug 29, 2018
This film reminded me of ''Sausage Party'' and not because they're similar but because they both use vulgarity, absurdity and coarseness as their pretext for comedy, forgetting about real humor and actual jokes and the result it's veryThis film reminded me of ''Sausage Party'' and not because they're similar but because they both use vulgarity, absurdity and coarseness as their pretext for comedy, forgetting about real humor and actual jokes and the result it's very self-evident: It failed miserably.

Maybe the best news about this film is that it's failing at the box office, so Melissa McCarthy may disappear for a while.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticAug 24, 2018
After films like Team America and Sausage Party show different types of films that decide to go raunchy and vulgar, you really need to step up and hit on your material and unfortunately The Happytime Murders is a swing and a miss. VulgarAfter films like Team America and Sausage Party show different types of films that decide to go raunchy and vulgar, you really need to step up and hit on your material and unfortunately The Happytime Murders is a swing and a miss. Vulgar puppets from the world of Jim Henson has its chance to be funny but 90% of the jokes fall flat and you're left with a 2nd rate murder mystery. When you decide to make a gimmick film you better deliver this one doesn't. Overall high 3 D+ Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Aug 24, 2018
Yes, The Happytime Murders isn't the first raunchy puppet movie (Meet the Feebles) or even the first story to treat puppets as second-class citizens (the short-lived show Greg the Bunny). But it is hilarious, I laughed a lot.

The film has a
Yes, The Happytime Murders isn't the first raunchy puppet movie (Meet the Feebles) or even the first story to treat puppets as second-class citizens (the short-lived show Greg the Bunny). But it is hilarious, I laughed a lot.

The film has a lot creatively insane jokes. Yet, despite the craziness, the film does have a decent plot to it. Though, admittedly it does have a lot of detective/noir cliches to it.

The human cast is surprisingly good in this considering that they have to act with puppets most of the time. Melissa McCarthy, Elizabeth Banks, and Maya Rudolph all put in some of their better performances. In fact, I think this is the best I've seen Maya, who plays a goofy secretary. Credit should be given to veteran Muppet performer Bill Barretta (Pepe the Prawn) as the main character. He pulls off the unenviable job of making the main puppet character Phil come off as tough and gritty, albeit in a humorous way. Only downside to the acting in this is that the puppets' voices are performed by veteran puppeteers rather than cast outside voices and there are a couple of times where the puppeteers' voices weren't strong enough to fit the tone.

Lastly, I really have to admire the technical effort put into this. A lot of effort is made to populate this world with multiple puppets, even if they're just in the background. It really sells the idea of a world populated with them. I haven't seen a puppet film that has had this many full-torso shots. If you don't like comedy that pushes the edge or is weird, this isn't for you. But I really recommend this if you like this sort of thing but aren't completely sold.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
AreYouSeriousAug 25, 2018
This movie would be a 10/10... if you had the mentality of a 10 year old. For anyone with half a brain, avoid this inane garbage like the plague.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
DavidnbAug 25, 2018
I was going to give it a zero, but Maya Rudolph... Muppets telling lame jokes is fun, muppets being foull and violent is not. Don't get me wrong, I love found language and violence, eat 'em for breakfast, but not funny. Not a good crimeI was going to give it a zero, but Maya Rudolph... Muppets telling lame jokes is fun, muppets being foull and violent is not. Don't get me wrong, I love found language and violence, eat 'em for breakfast, but not funny. Not a good crime movie, not a good comedy, and thee are no truly sympathetic characters. The onty thing you root for is the closing credits, which, come to think of it, are the best part of the movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
darkbloodshed13Aug 27, 2018
When I heard that Brain Henson was making an R-rated puppet film I was so excited unfortunately this movie doesn't live up to expectations. The story is your basic murder mystery with out any real surprises. It relies on shock humor to getWhen I heard that Brain Henson was making an R-rated puppet film I was so excited unfortunately this movie doesn't live up to expectations. The story is your basic murder mystery with out any real surprises. It relies on shock humor to get laughs but after a while it gets old and lame. It tries be adult by using crude jokes and sexual imagery but unfortunately it comes off as childish. The characters are are boring and uninteresting. The protagonist is a complete ass while the supporting characters are all idiots who's sole purpose is to make the protagonist look smarter. The only one who is at all interesting is Bubbles played by Maya Rudolph. She is the protagonist's secretary and has more personalty than all the other characters combined. In conclusion unless you have nothing better to do stay away from this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
TrevorsViewAug 30, 2018
Sesame Street was undoubtedly a memorable part of immeasurable childhoods over the past fifty years, me included. So now, after Jim Henson’s work left such an impression on millions, his son Brian (The Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet TreasureSesame Street was undoubtedly a memorable part of immeasurable childhoods over the past fifty years, me included. So now, after Jim Henson’s work left such an impression on millions, his son Brian (The Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet Treasure Island), presses old Father Kermit T. Frog’s legacy further. What has he brought us today? No number lessons. No dandy songs. No celebration of differences. No hilarious skits. Now about the skits, I can say several Sesame Street YouTube clips I have watched in the past had me literally rolling on the floor laughing, they were clearly made by passionate experts who knew how to entertain kids and adults alike. Yet The Happytime Murders, despite attempts to satirize our inclusion issues like last year’s Bright, fails to entertain anybody.

First, it’s hard to believe the puppetry in this flick seems run by people who never touched a sock before in their lives. Remember how Bert and Ernie’s skits were always funny despite their immobile faces? The puppeteers’ simple rhythmic hand gestures breathed out incredible tangible emotions that brought Bert and Ernie to life. Here, the felt figures always remain rigid, as if the crew controlling them were simply told, “move your thumb up and down to make the jaw move,” that’s it. Nothing else generated a hint of life from those static faces.

In fact, why use puppets at all? The only way the story integrates puppets into its scenarios happens when one bully rips off a puppet’s eye in the first scene. Other than that, the puppets’ species identification leaves zero effect on the plot; use mammals, mutants, or orcs instead, and everything would stay the same. That applies also to a liver transplant Melissa McCarthy’s character got from her puppet partner; make it an orc liver and nothing changes.

The folks behind Black Bear Pictures completely misunderstood that for something to be a social commentary, it must mirror reality accurately. Case in point, inside this version of modern Los Angeles, poachers are shown exactly once illegally trading puppets’ feet… apparently it really happens nowadays? These screenwriters should‘ve focused further on the word “Dummies,” a racial slur for puppets, but like the puppet poaching, it’s only mentioned once briefly.

If you somehow saw The Happytime Murders already, you most likely forgot those parts until I reminded you. Apparently, a sex tape of a squid milking a cow has priority over detailed worldbuilding (again, the fact that they’re puppets is irrelevant). Oh, that’s right. There’s hardcore porn in this movie! And it gets better: a puppet dalmatian tortures its firefighter tied to a bed, fifty shades style! But that’s nothing compared to the masterful potty humor that happens in between, when one bunny puppet caught eye-to-gun pees glitter then craps Easter eggs. The comedy works because… well… who knows!?

Then a full-on, surprisingly dull sex scene happens between two puppets that climaxes with semen made of silly string shooting onto the office walls. During my college days, I learned six key comedy rules:

1. Comedy is Conflict.
2. Comedy is Conviction.
3. Comedy is Deception.
4. Comedy is Greatest Wish and Worst Fear.
5. Comedy is Truth.
6. Comedy is Chaos and Anarchy.

​Said office sex accomplishes just 1 out of 6.

Maybe a better editor could have turned the awfully written jokes decent, but I honestly doubt it, the loud anti-comedian Melissa McCarthy’s irksome double-bladed insults puts her at an ultimate low. Although the ultimate reason why these jokes fall flat is simply because nobody working on this understood basic puppet psychology; why did they think puppets snort hyper sucrose through licorice instead of cocaine? Because it’s related to kids? What shallow thinking! Brian Henson clearly was going for a mix between a satirical buddy cop thriller that counteracts that of a “playtime” atmosphere yet because of the low contrast in the image, he can’t even get the basics of that right. The color grading is not the only thing creating an amateurish look though, the puppeteers’ erased green screen suits behind their puppets can be very clearly spotted, which somehow still looks less cheap than the outdoor highlights blown out by the sun.

If none of that was bad enough, the writers throw in hinted puppet-human romances that haunts your senses to the levels of Howard the Duck under the bedsheets beside Lea Thompson. Why can’t these dissimilar species just be friends? Oh right, racial allegory, duh! Hilarious, in celebrating integration of differences, The Happytime Murders unintentionally says people ought to pursue romance with their own kind, because anything apart from that becomes borderline bestiality.

Honestly, it infuriates quite a lot to see such miniscule effort send Jim Henson’s grave spinning. Why must our relationships alongside inanimate human-shaped objects come to this?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
clarkaddisonSep 13, 2018
I don’t think I liked this. There was a couple of times where I thought something was funny or there was some cool idea, but those quickly died by something crude or un-original. I don’t mind crude humor. I enjoyed sausage party to a degree.I don’t think I liked this. There was a couple of times where I thought something was funny or there was some cool idea, but those quickly died by something crude or un-original. I don’t mind crude humor. I enjoyed sausage party to a degree. South Park has its time and place. This is just a different beast though. Three or four scenes I can think of specifically that are almost scarring. I hate to make it seem like this, but it does seem like you respect it for the puppeteering part or this stuff cracks you up. It does not do the latter for me. I get that some of the puppeteering is cool, I know that there is more than one person working on the puppet and that takes some of the fun away for me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
crankyermaAug 24, 2018
This is what happens when you get a star with no taste who attaches themselves to a lazy, lowest common denominator premise and writers too hacky, uncreative and just plain untalented to find a way to raise the material above it.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
8
Quinnsdaddy11Aug 24, 2018
I believe if you went into this movie wanting to hate it you will find plenty to hate. But if you came to laugh, have a fun light detective story and wanted to see where Jim Hanson's son would take this concept it's a good time. I couldI believe if you went into this movie wanting to hate it you will find plenty to hate. But if you came to laugh, have a fun light detective story and wanted to see where Jim Hanson's son would take this concept it's a good time. I could never give a movie a low score if I was smiling through out and laughed at loud at several scenes, many of which where not in any trailer. So in summary, don't go to this movie if you think you will get something on the caliber of Who Framed Roger Rabbit, because you won't but if you enjoyed Sausage Party I don't see why you couldn't enjoy this too. I for one had a great time and so did my Sister (who I took to the movie since she was visiting in town) Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
person2000Aug 24, 2018
I think the reason critics are destorying this movie is because they're bringing the weight of their experience with children's televisions version of puppets to the film. It's not jiving with their ingrained belief for what a puppet is andI think the reason critics are destorying this movie is because they're bringing the weight of their experience with children's televisions version of puppets to the film. It's not jiving with their ingrained belief for what a puppet is and can do, thusly they outright reject it. It's the not the best movie of the year, but damn, it's funny and it's fun. If you want to have a good time at the movies, this is the movie to see. The artistry on display and technical skill is astounding, Melissa McCarthy is enjoyable, and Maya Rudolph knocks it out of the park. Go see this movie. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
2
RaygirlAug 25, 2018
Really silly movie, very short in length (didn't mind though since it wasn't good). Waste of time. I wouldn't even recommend it for a dollar theater price. One good scene involving silly string and a nod to Basic Instinct. But those wereReally silly movie, very short in length (didn't mind though since it wasn't good). Waste of time. I wouldn't even recommend it for a dollar theater price. One good scene involving silly string and a nod to Basic Instinct. But those were the only 2 memorable moments in this garbage flick. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
RattazustraSep 21, 2018
I thought that Melissa McCarthy could not do any worse after Ghostbuster. I was so wrong. She has a certain talent, but making funny movies is not one of them. Quite the contrary. Whatever movie she stars in becomes dramatically LESS funnyI thought that Melissa McCarthy could not do any worse after Ghostbuster. I was so wrong. She has a certain talent, but making funny movies is not one of them. Quite the contrary. Whatever movie she stars in becomes dramatically LESS funny and likeable. Maybe that could be exploited for the production of something incredibly sober and dry. If she'd play a character that the audience is supposed to hate, she could really excel. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
JPKAug 24, 2018
It Was Okay
It's Funny At Times, Sometimes Hilarious, But Sometimes There Is WAY TOO Much Humor And Less Story.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
zlguntilzSep 4, 2018
One of the best comedies I've seen in years. Will be seeing again for sure! The Movie was set up with the expectation that it was not for children and would be a semi-raunchy movie, not sure why it's getting such bad reviews.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
futurescrnwrtrAug 27, 2018
Make a movie.
Include a lengthy exceedingly graphic sex scene.
Stir in every dark sexual reference. Add 100 f-bombs, every crude word known to man, 20 misuses of "God" and 20 misuses of "Jesus" (the name above every name). Include graphic
Make a movie.
Include a lengthy exceedingly graphic sex scene.
Stir in every dark sexual reference.
Add 100 f-bombs, every crude word known to man, 20 misuses of "God" and 20 misuses of "Jesus" (the name above every name).
Include graphic violence, drug use and gambling.
FINALLY add lots of cute muppet characters to ENSURE that every innocent kid on the planet will be drawn to watch this filth.

"Whoever receives one little child like this in My name receives Me. But whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to sin, it would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck, and he were drowned in the depth of the sea. Woe to the world because of offenses! For offenses must come, but woe to that man by whom the offense comes!" Matthew 18:5-7
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
xamottAug 31, 2018
Funny, irreverent. Totally worth seeing. Look at who the critics work for that gave this movie a zero.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
MysticArtisanAug 28, 2018
I loved this film and I rarely comment on this site but I felt the need to, as I think the film has been unfairly reviewed. To me I haven’t laughed for alongtime at many new films most of the way through in the last 5-10 years, it’s veryI loved this film and I rarely comment on this site but I felt the need to, as I think the film has been unfairly reviewed. To me I haven’t laughed for alongtime at many new films most of the way through in the last 5-10 years, it’s very subtle, twisted and beyond the obvious humour is very poignant. With its adult stars(it maybe twisted but is not porn) I usually cannot stand Melissa McCarthy and her other SNL alumni (was not a fan of Bridemaids and so forth) but she suited this down to the ground juxtapose to the other 2D characters. Maya Rudolph’s character Bubbles was fun and represented the muppets in a human form of being kind, happy go lucky which was so different to her boss Phil Phillips who I saw as equally dejected, depressed, depraved, dark and twisted in humour too but with pride. It is lazy to compare it to Ted or Team America-they are totally different and in some cases too extreme Sauage Party went wayward and which can be an issue with South Park and Family Guy episodes and to be honest Ted 2 sucked and should not have been made (not Seth Mcfarlane’s finest hour, though The Orville series amended that). Happytime Murders toes the line correctly and I congratulate Brian Henson on this as he must struggle being in his Dads shadow and perhaps he has wanted to do a film like this for a long time but been advised against it. After the film I would like this to be a great tv series or a similar idea for Netflix which I would happily watch. Now sorry to bust the moaning critics bubble but I grew up with the muppets during the 80s and seen all the films including the known ones in the 90s but the newer ones in the last few years were lame and the last series was trying to be like the office which was boring. This film is an adult film quite clearly that uses Muppet like characters-similar to the humour in Avenue Q and is not for kids and it could be seen as a less raucous Ralph Bakshi film in parts. The film develops well and you can see it being obvious in places but that’s part of the joke, it’s tongue in cheek, irony and get this it’s a comedy not a deep film and for an hour and half it will are you smile. I think in the U.K. it will fare better as British people have a darker sense of humour and get the nuaissnces of noir. If you want something deep then go watch a French arty film about a painter/ballerina or some socio-political film you can analyse with your yuppie/artsy friends. However if you are intrigued to go see this, please do and escape the mundane existence of most movies which are so CGI heavy or lacking in plot. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
KadeemluvmusicAug 27, 2018
If you wanna watch a very good movie about pupppets and some unadulterated raunchy humor, I recommend either 2 Ted movies or Team America World Police. Because I’m sick and tired of Melissa McCarthy’s schtick over the years after the veryIf you wanna watch a very good movie about pupppets and some unadulterated raunchy humor, I recommend either 2 Ted movies or Team America World Police. Because I’m sick and tired of Melissa McCarthy’s schtick over the years after the very underrated Ghostbusters reboot. I could honestly say that The Happytime Murders could be a shoe-in for Worst Movie of 2018. At least Life Of The Party was decent but pretty forgettable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Aug 28, 2018
In a manner similar to another recent film, "Sausage Party," "The Happytime Murders" spends most of its running time resting solely on the promise of its premise alone. "Hey, look! Puppets cussing and ejaculating! That's funny, right?" Not byIn a manner similar to another recent film, "Sausage Party," "The Happytime Murders" spends most of its running time resting solely on the promise of its premise alone. "Hey, look! Puppets cussing and ejaculating! That's funny, right?" Not by itself, no. And make no mistake, that premise is basically "by itself" for the entirety of the movie. Sure, there are a few frustratingly entertaining jokes here and there (frustrating in that there are some faint glimmers of actual humor in an otherwise woefully tone-deaf comedic effort) but that's about it. The cop/noir elements aren't well-thought-out or ground-breaking in any way. Even the puppeteering work wasn't everything it should've been in terms of comedy. Just an unfortunate, sad effort on almost all fronts, and yet another recent demerit on the track record of the Melissa McCarthy craze. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alissa914gAug 24, 2018
There were some moments where it was genuinely funny and other times where it felt like the jokes should've been better. The script wasn't that great, but it was fun enough and it's good to see Melissa McCarthy not overacting.... she andThere were some moments where it was genuinely funny and other times where it felt like the jokes should've been better. The script wasn't that great, but it was fun enough and it's good to see Melissa McCarthy not overacting.... she and her puppet partner carried the movie well enough for it to be enjoyable to where I'm glad I saw it. I honestly wasn't going to see it at all until I heard Brian Henson directed it, so I figured there'd be some good laughs in it... and there pretty much were some moments.... but some bits just didn't work and the script was kind of lacking. Still, there are better ways to spend an evening.... and it was definitely much better than the last movie I saw, The Spy Who Dumped Me or whatever that movie was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WonderZOct 8, 2018
You have to be a real Muppets lover to like this movie. Melissa wasn't as animated as usual, I could have done without the muppet sex scene. It had some fun lines because it was the Muppets, sort of. Wait for it to come out on boxxy softwareYou have to be a real Muppets lover to like this movie. Melissa wasn't as animated as usual, I could have done without the muppet sex scene. It had some fun lines because it was the Muppets, sort of. Wait for it to come out on boxxy software and you get it for free and have nothing better to do with your time. Other than that, forget it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Vitor007Nov 30, 2018
With no subtlety, the film lives up to what was expected of us. Surprisingly, for those who like this comedy style, the film becomes unique, with its vulgar humor always making appearances. The way in which production conveys information toWith no subtlety, the film lives up to what was expected of us. Surprisingly, for those who like this comedy style, the film becomes unique, with its vulgar humor always making appearances. The way in which production conveys information to the public and performances by puppets and humans is also noteworthy. Just its simplicity in the storyline that leads to the inconvenience, especially in its conclusion. 7.0/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MaySkyAug 31, 2018
The movie is OK if you really, really suspend belief not in the fact that puppet are real or they are crude but I could not for the life of me figure out if the puppets were real through magic or they had a work vascular system and organs.The movie is OK if you really, really suspend belief not in the fact that puppet are real or they are crude but I could not for the life of me figure out if the puppets were real through magic or they had a work vascular system and organs. One minute they are full of stuffing the next minute the main character is getting a liver for one of the puppets. Again I digress the movie was OK but too many things were just to hard to suspend belief in to fully enjoy the movie as it was intended I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Reproducir | 下载 APK | Cloak Dagger