streamango VF BDRIP | The Darkest Dawn 2016 FRENCH NF WEBRip XviD-EXTREME | Who Are You - School 2015
STX Entertainment | Release Date: August 24, 2018
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 65 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
17
Negative:
29
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TVJerryAug 28, 2018
Even though this is NOT a Muppets movie (and lost a suit by the makers of "Sesame Street"), the director is Jim Henson's son Brian. It takes place in a world where puppets and humans coexist, but the stuffed creatures are largely scorned.Even though this is NOT a Muppets movie (and lost a suit by the makers of "Sesame Street"), the director is Jim Henson's son Brian. It takes place in a world where puppets and humans coexist, but the stuffed creatures are largely scorned. When the cast of a popular TV show starts being killed, a washed-up puppet detective and his old partner (Melissa McCarthy) team up to solve the case. The selling point (and potential source of much raunchy humor) is the streetwise, foul-mouthed, even X-rated approach to puppets. Notice I said "potential." Even though the energy keeps it from being boring, it's never funny. When will writers learn that F-bombs don't make a line hilarious, especially when it's used in almost every sentence. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
darkbloodshed13Aug 27, 2018
When I heard that Brain Henson was making an R-rated puppet film I was so excited unfortunately this movie doesn't live up to expectations. The story is your basic murder mystery with out any real surprises. It relies on shock humor to getWhen I heard that Brain Henson was making an R-rated puppet film I was so excited unfortunately this movie doesn't live up to expectations. The story is your basic murder mystery with out any real surprises. It relies on shock humor to get laughs but after a while it gets old and lame. It tries be adult by using crude jokes and sexual imagery but unfortunately it comes off as childish. The characters are are boring and uninteresting. The protagonist is a complete ass while the supporting characters are all idiots who's sole purpose is to make the protagonist look smarter. The only one who is at all interesting is Bubbles played by Maya Rudolph. She is the protagonist's secretary and has more personalty than all the other characters combined. In conclusion unless you have nothing better to do stay away from this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
clarkaddisonSep 13, 2018
I don’t think I liked this. There was a couple of times where I thought something was funny or there was some cool idea, but those quickly died by something crude or un-original. I don’t mind crude humor. I enjoyed sausage party to a degree.I don’t think I liked this. There was a couple of times where I thought something was funny or there was some cool idea, but those quickly died by something crude or un-original. I don’t mind crude humor. I enjoyed sausage party to a degree. South Park has its time and place. This is just a different beast though. Three or four scenes I can think of specifically that are almost scarring. I hate to make it seem like this, but it does seem like you respect it for the puppeteering part or this stuff cracks you up. It does not do the latter for me. I get that some of the puppeteering is cool, I know that there is more than one person working on the puppet and that takes some of the fun away for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Daniellockhart0Sep 14, 2018
What is this monstrosity of a film. Its dumb the humor is horrible and the script is awful this was a waste of time and money its not worth the ticket the only good thing about this movie is when it ends well thats all the good in this monstrosity.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticAug 24, 2018
After films like Team America and Sausage Party show different types of films that decide to go raunchy and vulgar, you really need to step up and hit on your material and unfortunately The Happytime Murders is a swing and a miss. VulgarAfter films like Team America and Sausage Party show different types of films that decide to go raunchy and vulgar, you really need to step up and hit on your material and unfortunately The Happytime Murders is a swing and a miss. Vulgar puppets from the world of Jim Henson has its chance to be funny but 90% of the jokes fall flat and you're left with a 2nd rate murder mystery. When you decide to make a gimmick film you better deliver this one doesn't. Overall high 3 D+ Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
AreYouSeriousAug 25, 2018
This movie would be a 10/10... if you had the mentality of a 10 year old. For anyone with half a brain, avoid this inane garbage like the plague.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
DavidnbAug 25, 2018
I was going to give it a zero, but Maya Rudolph... Muppets telling lame jokes is fun, muppets being foull and violent is not. Don't get me wrong, I love found language and violence, eat 'em for breakfast, but not funny. Not a good crimeI was going to give it a zero, but Maya Rudolph... Muppets telling lame jokes is fun, muppets being foull and violent is not. Don't get me wrong, I love found language and violence, eat 'em for breakfast, but not funny. Not a good crime movie, not a good comedy, and thee are no truly sympathetic characters. The onty thing you root for is the closing credits, which, come to think of it, are the best part of the movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
JLuis_001Aug 29, 2018
This film reminded me of ''Sausage Party'' and not because they're similar but because they both use vulgarity, absurdity and coarseness as their pretext for comedy, forgetting about real humor and actual jokes and the result it's veryThis film reminded me of ''Sausage Party'' and not because they're similar but because they both use vulgarity, absurdity and coarseness as their pretext for comedy, forgetting about real humor and actual jokes and the result it's very self-evident: It failed miserably.

Maybe the best news about this film is that it's failing at the box office, so Melissa McCarthy may disappear for a while.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
twall3Aug 26, 2018
This is what happens when a creative genius' son shows the world what a pervert he is. Should have kept it a secret.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
crankyermaAug 24, 2018
This is what happens when you get a star with no taste who attaches themselves to a lazy, lowest common denominator premise and writers too hacky, uncreative and just plain untalented to find a way to raise the material above it.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
futurescrnwrtrAug 27, 2018
Make a movie.
Include a lengthy exceedingly graphic sex scene.
Stir in every dark sexual reference. Add 100 f-bombs, every crude word known to man, 20 misuses of "God" and 20 misuses of "Jesus" (the name above every name). Include graphic
Make a movie.
Include a lengthy exceedingly graphic sex scene.
Stir in every dark sexual reference.
Add 100 f-bombs, every crude word known to man, 20 misuses of "God" and 20 misuses of "Jesus" (the name above every name).
Include graphic violence, drug use and gambling.
FINALLY add lots of cute muppet characters to ENSURE that every innocent kid on the planet will be drawn to watch this filth.

"Whoever receives one little child like this in My name receives Me. But whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to sin, it would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck, and he were drowned in the depth of the sea. Woe to the world because of offenses! For offenses must come, but woe to that man by whom the offense comes!" Matthew 18:5-7
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
2
RaygirlAug 25, 2018
Really silly movie, very short in length (didn't mind though since it wasn't good). Waste of time. I wouldn't even recommend it for a dollar theater price. One good scene involving silly string and a nod to Basic Instinct. But those wereReally silly movie, very short in length (didn't mind though since it wasn't good). Waste of time. I wouldn't even recommend it for a dollar theater price. One good scene involving silly string and a nod to Basic Instinct. But those were the only 2 memorable moments in this garbage flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
KadeemluvmusicAug 27, 2018
If you wanna watch a very good movie about pupppets and some unadulterated raunchy humor, I recommend either 2 Ted movies or Team America World Police. Because I’m sick and tired of Melissa McCarthy’s schtick over the years after the veryIf you wanna watch a very good movie about pupppets and some unadulterated raunchy humor, I recommend either 2 Ted movies or Team America World Police. Because I’m sick and tired of Melissa McCarthy’s schtick over the years after the very underrated Ghostbusters reboot. I could honestly say that The Happytime Murders could be a shoe-in for Worst Movie of 2018. At least Life Of The Party was decent but pretty forgettable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TrevorsViewAug 30, 2018
Sesame Street was undoubtedly a memorable part of immeasurable childhoods over the past fifty years, me included. So now, after Jim Henson’s work left such an impression on millions, his son Brian (The Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet TreasureSesame Street was undoubtedly a memorable part of immeasurable childhoods over the past fifty years, me included. So now, after Jim Henson’s work left such an impression on millions, his son Brian (The Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet Treasure Island), presses old Father Kermit T. Frog’s legacy further. What has he brought us today? No number lessons. No dandy songs. No celebration of differences. No hilarious skits. Now about the skits, I can say several Sesame Street YouTube clips I have watched in the past had me literally rolling on the floor laughing, they were clearly made by passionate experts who knew how to entertain kids and adults alike. Yet The Happytime Murders, despite attempts to satirize our inclusion issues like last year’s Bright, fails to entertain anybody.

First, it’s hard to believe the puppetry in this flick seems run by people who never touched a sock before in their lives. Remember how Bert and Ernie’s skits were always funny despite their immobile faces? The puppeteers’ simple rhythmic hand gestures breathed out incredible tangible emotions that brought Bert and Ernie to life. Here, the felt figures always remain rigid, as if the crew controlling them were simply told, “move your thumb up and down to make the jaw move,” that’s it. Nothing else generated a hint of life from those static faces.

In fact, why use puppets at all? The only way the story integrates puppets into its scenarios happens when one bully rips off a puppet’s eye in the first scene. Other than that, the puppets’ species identification leaves zero effect on the plot; use mammals, mutants, or orcs instead, and everything would stay the same. That applies also to a liver transplant Melissa McCarthy’s character got from her puppet partner; make it an orc liver and nothing changes.

The folks behind Black Bear Pictures completely misunderstood that for something to be a social commentary, it must mirror reality accurately. Case in point, inside this version of modern Los Angeles, poachers are shown exactly once illegally trading puppets’ feet… apparently it really happens nowadays? These screenwriters should‘ve focused further on the word “Dummies,” a racial slur for puppets, but like the puppet poaching, it’s only mentioned once briefly.

If you somehow saw The Happytime Murders already, you most likely forgot those parts until I reminded you. Apparently, a sex tape of a squid milking a cow has priority over detailed worldbuilding (again, the fact that they’re puppets is irrelevant). Oh, that’s right. There’s hardcore porn in this movie! And it gets better: a puppet dalmatian tortures its firefighter tied to a bed, fifty shades style! But that’s nothing compared to the masterful potty humor that happens in between, when one bunny puppet caught eye-to-gun pees glitter then craps Easter eggs. The comedy works because… well… who knows!?

Then a full-on, surprisingly dull sex scene happens between two puppets that climaxes with semen made of silly string shooting onto the office walls. During my college days, I learned six key comedy rules:

1. Comedy is Conflict.
2. Comedy is Conviction.
3. Comedy is Deception.
4. Comedy is Greatest Wish and Worst Fear.
5. Comedy is Truth.
6. Comedy is Chaos and Anarchy.

​Said office sex accomplishes just 1 out of 6.

Maybe a better editor could have turned the awfully written jokes decent, but I honestly doubt it, the loud anti-comedian Melissa McCarthy’s irksome double-bladed insults puts her at an ultimate low. Although the ultimate reason why these jokes fall flat is simply because nobody working on this understood basic puppet psychology; why did they think puppets snort hyper sucrose through licorice instead of cocaine? Because it’s related to kids? What shallow thinking! Brian Henson clearly was going for a mix between a satirical buddy cop thriller that counteracts that of a “playtime” atmosphere yet because of the low contrast in the image, he can’t even get the basics of that right. The color grading is not the only thing creating an amateurish look though, the puppeteers’ erased green screen suits behind their puppets can be very clearly spotted, which somehow still looks less cheap than the outdoor highlights blown out by the sun.

If none of that was bad enough, the writers throw in hinted puppet-human romances that haunts your senses to the levels of Howard the Duck under the bedsheets beside Lea Thompson. Why can’t these dissimilar species just be friends? Oh right, racial allegory, duh! Hilarious, in celebrating integration of differences, The Happytime Murders unintentionally says people ought to pursue romance with their own kind, because anything apart from that becomes borderline bestiality.

Honestly, it infuriates quite a lot to see such miniscule effort send Jim Henson’s grave spinning. Why must our relationships alongside inanimate human-shaped objects come to this?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Tss5078Aug 31, 2018
I really didn't know what to expect from The Happytime Murders, and that's why I went to see it. I wasn't sure if I'd be getting Team America or Roger Rabbit, maybe even a combination of the two. Despite the tagline, that the film wasn'tI really didn't know what to expect from The Happytime Murders, and that's why I went to see it. I wasn't sure if I'd be getting Team America or Roger Rabbit, maybe even a combination of the two. Despite the tagline, that the film wasn't suitable for children, I did expect some level of juvenile humor, but I thought if it has a edge to it and if the mystery is somewhat compelling, maybe it would surprise me, it didn't. Much in the same way that Roger Rabbit had humans and toons living together, with an extreme bias against toons, this world has humans and puppets living together, with a bias against puppets. Phil Phillips (Ryan Tran) claim to fame was as the first puppet to be a police officer, but now he's washed up, and it's brother's fame and his TV show, The Happytime Family, that overshadows him. Phil doesn't care about anything anymore until someone starts killing off the Happytime gang, including his brother, that's when he wants back in, even if his human partner, Connie Edwards (Melissa McCarthy) wants nothing to do with him anymore. The tagline said this film was not intended for kids, but I disagree, because that's exactly who this film is intended for. The comedy is nothing but sex and jokes aimed at a very young crowd. There is no way that adults are going to find most of the comedy in this film even remotely funny. As for the "dramatic" side of the story, the mystery isn't such a mystery, it's so simplistic that you'll know before the first murder even happens. But what about the star of the film, Melissa McCarthy? Well, she plays the same role in just about every film doesn't she? Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, here she just adds to the futility of everything. The bottom line on The Happytime murders is that the story is too basic, the backstory is a complete rip off of Roger Rabbit, and the jokes are so low-brow, that I think even Trey Parker and Matt Stone would pass on using them in a similar film. The true joke here is that this film was ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RattazustraSep 21, 2018
I thought that Melissa McCarthy could not do any worse after Ghostbuster. I was so wrong. She has a certain talent, but making funny movies is not one of them. Quite the contrary. Whatever movie she stars in becomes dramatically LESS funnyI thought that Melissa McCarthy could not do any worse after Ghostbuster. I was so wrong. She has a certain talent, but making funny movies is not one of them. Quite the contrary. Whatever movie she stars in becomes dramatically LESS funny and likeable. Maybe that could be exploited for the production of something incredibly sober and dry. If she'd play a character that the audience is supposed to hate, she could really excel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews