STX Entertainment | Release Date: August 24, 2018
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
20
Negative:
34
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JDX_AwesomeAug 26, 2018
I knew that this movie wasn’t going to be a masterpiece or anything, but I thought it would be at least interesting, and it was. I thought that all the puppets looked really good, the puppetry was great as well. The performances (includingI knew that this movie wasn’t going to be a masterpiece or anything, but I thought it would be at least interesting, and it was. I thought that all the puppets looked really good, the puppetry was great as well. The performances (including voices for the puppets) were fine, they were passable. The murder mystery has actually interesting and had a cleverly and satisfying ending. There were even a good action scene or two. I also like the world this movie builds. The puppet ‘racism’ is a surprisingly effective social commentary. Now here’s when it gets bad. Nearly every joke in this movie falls totally flat. There were a few visual gags that made me smile, there a few decent one liners that helped to build the world a bit, but all the crude jokes were just awful. I think if they played this off more seriously, this could’ve been actually good. Or maybe if they wrote a murder mystery comedy with a social commentary on race and it just happens to be in a world with puppets. Who knows? I think the world is interesting and they could definitely make a movie that takes place there, but a different tone, plot, and even genre. So, overall, not great, but still enjoyable, in my opinion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
IndiefilmloverAug 24, 2018
This low brow comedy has a few crude laughs. There's even a story to follow and a not too subtle message about tolerance. If you have a disdain for "serious" movies, you might even find it worth your time. This is particularly true if yourThis low brow comedy has a few crude laughs. There's even a story to follow and a not too subtle message about tolerance. If you have a disdain for "serious" movies, you might even find it worth your time. This is particularly true if your air conditioning is on the fritz on a hot summer night. Just be sure to keep you expectations in check. Everyone else is best to keep away. There's no need to stay for the long closing credits which pad the film's 91 minute running time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesAug 24, 2018
I thought these trailers looked truly awful, so maybe that low bar made me not totally hate my experience. It’s low-brow and one note, but watchable. Take that for what it’s worth.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
JPKAug 24, 2018
It Was Okay
It's Funny At Times, Sometimes Hilarious, But Sometimes There Is WAY TOO Much Humor And Less Story.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Aug 28, 2018
In a manner similar to another recent film, "Sausage Party," "The Happytime Murders" spends most of its running time resting solely on the promise of its premise alone. "Hey, look! Puppets cussing and ejaculating! That's funny, right?" Not byIn a manner similar to another recent film, "Sausage Party," "The Happytime Murders" spends most of its running time resting solely on the promise of its premise alone. "Hey, look! Puppets cussing and ejaculating! That's funny, right?" Not by itself, no. And make no mistake, that premise is basically "by itself" for the entirety of the movie. Sure, there are a few frustratingly entertaining jokes here and there (frustrating in that there are some faint glimmers of actual humor in an otherwise woefully tone-deaf comedic effort) but that's about it. The cop/noir elements aren't well-thought-out or ground-breaking in any way. Even the puppeteering work wasn't everything it should've been in terms of comedy. Just an unfortunate, sad effort on almost all fronts, and yet another recent demerit on the track record of the Melissa McCarthy craze. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alissa914gAug 24, 2018
There were some moments where it was genuinely funny and other times where it felt like the jokes should've been better. The script wasn't that great, but it was fun enough and it's good to see Melissa McCarthy not overacting.... she andThere were some moments where it was genuinely funny and other times where it felt like the jokes should've been better. The script wasn't that great, but it was fun enough and it's good to see Melissa McCarthy not overacting.... she and her puppet partner carried the movie well enough for it to be enjoyable to where I'm glad I saw it. I honestly wasn't going to see it at all until I heard Brian Henson directed it, so I figured there'd be some good laughs in it... and there pretty much were some moments.... but some bits just didn't work and the script was kind of lacking. Still, there are better ways to spend an evening.... and it was definitely much better than the last movie I saw, The Spy Who Dumped Me or whatever that movie was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WonderZOct 8, 2018
You have to be a real Muppets lover to like this movie. Melissa wasn't as animated as usual, I could have done without the muppet sex scene. It had some fun lines because it was the Muppets, sort of. Wait for it to come out on boxxy softwareYou have to be a real Muppets lover to like this movie. Melissa wasn't as animated as usual, I could have done without the muppet sex scene. It had some fun lines because it was the Muppets, sort of. Wait for it to come out on boxxy software and you get it for free and have nothing better to do with your time. Other than that, forget it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MaySkyAug 31, 2018
The movie is OK if you really, really suspend belief not in the fact that puppet are real or they are crude but I could not for the life of me figure out if the puppets were real through magic or they had a work vascular system and organs.The movie is OK if you really, really suspend belief not in the fact that puppet are real or they are crude but I could not for the life of me figure out if the puppets were real through magic or they had a work vascular system and organs. One minute they are full of stuffing the next minute the main character is getting a liver for one of the puppets. Again I digress the movie was OK but too many things were just to hard to suspend belief in to fully enjoy the movie as it was intended I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Mixed Signals | The Charnel House (2016) | IDIOTENTEST - Wie gut kennst du Marken?? 😳🤔 (SEHR SCHWER)