STX Entertainment | Release Date: August 24, 2018
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
20
Negative:
34
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SturmhardtNov 24, 2018
It really is a funny movie. It's not the best comedy in the world and it wasn't perfect, but it's silly stupid humor at its best and me and the wife really enjoyed it. It doesn't deserve the >30% rating. If you like the trailer, give it a shot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jameswaltersAug 28, 2018
Greatest sex scene in the history of cinema!! The film is worth watching for that alone!! And then the homage to "Fatal Attraction" is absolutely incredible!!! The Carpet doesn't match the Drapes!!! Have they ever?!?! Will they ever?!?! NotGreatest sex scene in the history of cinema!! The film is worth watching for that alone!! And then the homage to "Fatal Attraction" is absolutely incredible!!! The Carpet doesn't match the Drapes!!! Have they ever?!?! Will they ever?!?! Not likely!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Aug 24, 2018
Yes, The Happytime Murders isn't the first raunchy puppet movie (Meet the Feebles) or even the first story to treat puppets as second-class citizens (the short-lived show Greg the Bunny). But it is hilarious, I laughed a lot.

The film has a
Yes, The Happytime Murders isn't the first raunchy puppet movie (Meet the Feebles) or even the first story to treat puppets as second-class citizens (the short-lived show Greg the Bunny). But it is hilarious, I laughed a lot.

The film has a lot creatively insane jokes. Yet, despite the craziness, the film does have a decent plot to it. Though, admittedly it does have a lot of detective/noir cliches to it.

The human cast is surprisingly good in this considering that they have to act with puppets most of the time. Melissa McCarthy, Elizabeth Banks, and Maya Rudolph all put in some of their better performances. In fact, I think this is the best I've seen Maya, who plays a goofy secretary. Credit should be given to veteran Muppet performer Bill Barretta (Pepe the Prawn) as the main character. He pulls off the unenviable job of making the main puppet character Phil come off as tough and gritty, albeit in a humorous way. Only downside to the acting in this is that the puppets' voices are performed by veteran puppeteers rather than cast outside voices and there are a couple of times where the puppeteers' voices weren't strong enough to fit the tone.

Lastly, I really have to admire the technical effort put into this. A lot of effort is made to populate this world with multiple puppets, even if they're just in the background. It really sells the idea of a world populated with them. I haven't seen a puppet film that has had this many full-torso shots. If you don't like comedy that pushes the edge or is weird, this isn't for you. But I really recommend this if you like this sort of thing but aren't completely sold.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
Quinnsdaddy11Aug 24, 2018
I believe if you went into this movie wanting to hate it you will find plenty to hate. But if you came to laugh, have a fun light detective story and wanted to see where Jim Hanson's son would take this concept it's a good time. I couldI believe if you went into this movie wanting to hate it you will find plenty to hate. But if you came to laugh, have a fun light detective story and wanted to see where Jim Hanson's son would take this concept it's a good time. I could never give a movie a low score if I was smiling through out and laughed at loud at several scenes, many of which where not in any trailer. So in summary, don't go to this movie if you think you will get something on the caliber of Who Framed Roger Rabbit, because you won't but if you enjoyed Sausage Party I don't see why you couldn't enjoy this too. I for one had a great time and so did my Sister (who I took to the movie since she was visiting in town) Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
person2000Aug 24, 2018
I think the reason critics are destorying this movie is because they're bringing the weight of their experience with children's televisions version of puppets to the film. It's not jiving with their ingrained belief for what a puppet is andI think the reason critics are destorying this movie is because they're bringing the weight of their experience with children's televisions version of puppets to the film. It's not jiving with their ingrained belief for what a puppet is and can do, thusly they outright reject it. It's the not the best movie of the year, but damn, it's funny and it's fun. If you want to have a good time at the movies, this is the movie to see. The artistry on display and technical skill is astounding, Melissa McCarthy is enjoyable, and Maya Rudolph knocks it out of the park. Go see this movie. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
zlguntilzSep 4, 2018
One of the best comedies I've seen in years. Will be seeing again for sure! The Movie was set up with the expectation that it was not for children and would be a semi-raunchy movie, not sure why it's getting such bad reviews.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
xamottAug 31, 2018
Funny, irreverent. Totally worth seeing. Look at who the critics work for that gave this movie a zero.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
MysticArtisanAug 28, 2018
I loved this film and I rarely comment on this site but I felt the need to, as I think the film has been unfairly reviewed. To me I haven’t laughed for alongtime at many new films most of the way through in the last 5-10 years, it’s veryI loved this film and I rarely comment on this site but I felt the need to, as I think the film has been unfairly reviewed. To me I haven’t laughed for alongtime at many new films most of the way through in the last 5-10 years, it’s very subtle, twisted and beyond the obvious humour is very poignant. With its adult stars(it maybe twisted but is not porn) I usually cannot stand Melissa McCarthy and her other SNL alumni (was not a fan of Bridemaids and so forth) but she suited this down to the ground juxtapose to the other 2D characters. Maya Rudolph’s character Bubbles was fun and represented the muppets in a human form of being kind, happy go lucky which was so different to her boss Phil Phillips who I saw as equally dejected, depressed, depraved, dark and twisted in humour too but with pride. It is lazy to compare it to Ted or Team America-they are totally different and in some cases too extreme Sauage Party went wayward and which can be an issue with South Park and Family Guy episodes and to be honest Ted 2 sucked and should not have been made (not Seth Mcfarlane’s finest hour, though The Orville series amended that). Happytime Murders toes the line correctly and I congratulate Brian Henson on this as he must struggle being in his Dads shadow and perhaps he has wanted to do a film like this for a long time but been advised against it. After the film I would like this to be a great tv series or a similar idea for Netflix which I would happily watch. Now sorry to bust the moaning critics bubble but I grew up with the muppets during the 80s and seen all the films including the known ones in the 90s but the newer ones in the last few years were lame and the last series was trying to be like the office which was boring. This film is an adult film quite clearly that uses Muppet like characters-similar to the humour in Avenue Q and is not for kids and it could be seen as a less raucous Ralph Bakshi film in parts. The film develops well and you can see it being obvious in places but that’s part of the joke, it’s tongue in cheek, irony and get this it’s a comedy not a deep film and for an hour and half it will are you smile. I think in the U.K. it will fare better as British people have a darker sense of humour and get the nuaissnces of noir. If you want something deep then go watch a French arty film about a painter/ballerina or some socio-political film you can analyse with your yuppie/artsy friends. However if you are intrigued to go see this, please do and escape the mundane existence of most movies which are so CGI heavy or lacking in plot. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Vitor007Nov 30, 2018
With no subtlety, the film lives up to what was expected of us. Surprisingly, for those who like this comedy style, the film becomes unique, with its vulgar humor always making appearances. The way in which production conveys information toWith no subtlety, the film lives up to what was expected of us. Surprisingly, for those who like this comedy style, the film becomes unique, with its vulgar humor always making appearances. The way in which production conveys information to the public and performances by puppets and humans is also noteworthy. Just its simplicity in the storyline that leads to the inconvenience, especially in its conclusion. 7.0/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Gaston Lagaffe FRENCH WEBRIP 2018 | Atom The Beginning Sub Indo Batch Eps 1-12 Lengkap | Ncb Office Summary