Stumbleupon | Dottori In Corsia-Ospedale Pediatrico Bambino Gesù (2018) streaming | Naruto Gaiden – Hokage Đệ Thất chap 8
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9

Critic Reviews

  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 1, 2018
    30
    Tiresome nasty camp cartoon homage to 1989's pitch-black cult comedy. [5 Mar - 18 Mar 2018, p.13]
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 27, 2018
    30
    Paramount Network's TV take on Heathers is a one-note disappointment, taking certain surface-level detours from the movie and adding precious little scathing insight of its own.
  3. Reviewed by: Julia Selinger
    Feb 27, 2018
    25
    Though the show's commentary on identity politics is meant to be sardonic, it's unclear for whom the jokes are meant. Heathers is ostensibly being pitched to young people, but it seems to despise the very demographic it's trying to attract. All of the teenagers are depicted as sociopaths, social climbers, or disingenuous activists.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 25, 2018
    20
    Heathers is hardly the first 30-year-old movie to receive a modern reboot, but it's hard to think of a more misguided re-conception, one that has updated the premise -- in a clumsy attempt to be provocative -- in wholly muddled and off-putting ways.
  5. Reviewed by: Patrick Ryan
    Oct 25, 2018
    0
    It wasn't worth salvaging what remains a repugnant, mean-spirited attempt at satire that uses smug wokeness as a hall pass to play into every offensive stereotype imaginable.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Oct 27, 2018
    0
    I created a Metacritic account five minutes ago for literally no reason other than attempting to warn people away from this show. It is one ofI created a Metacritic account five minutes ago for literally no reason other than attempting to warn people away from this show. It is one of the worst things I have watched this year.
    I would not categorize it as a dark comedy, but rather a humorless regular comedy, offering what is essentially a watered down, politically correct copy of tropes from the original movie in attempt to be edgy.
    The mood swings all over the place: sometimes it is the same borderline absurdism from the film, sometimes it is a regular high school drama. It flips between realism and surrealism with no apparent rhyme or reason, which left me feeling confused and disoriented as to what it is that I was supposed to be watching.
    The show attempted to relate to young people in the same cringe-inducing format that is becoming all-too common. Every other scene references some form of social media and hot phrases include "followers" "likes" "hashtag" and "emoji."
    The entire experience thing felt ham-fisted.
    For example, rather than portray minority groups in a way as to humanize them and help heal rifts in our society, the show forced a grotesque depiction of the LGBT community in a way that almost made it feel like a satire. Rather than maturely address social issues like body image and women's rights, the show used cliche rhetoric and annoying buzzwords.

    And don't even get me started on the attempted throwbacks to the film. It was just sad.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2018
    9
    EDIT: I just read some articles on how they are changing the show for US airings - they are editing the last two episode and REMOVING THEEDIT: I just read some articles on how they are changing the show for US airings - they are editing the last two episode and REMOVING THE ENTIRE FINALE. Which of course is important for any story, but even more so on how this subverts the original. With a never-to-be-finished cliffhanger ending in its place, this will totally gut the series and ruin the entire ting. I assume the censored version will be in the 2-4 range. Find the original cut. END EDIT

    The only thing that prevents me from giving this a 10 is James Scully's performance as JD. One of the worst actors in a lead role I've seen in a recent memory and obviously pales in comparison to Christian Slater. Other than that, this show takes the amazing movie and modernizes it, lovingly pays homage to it, and just really shows off some great writer tricks.

    I would absolutely suggest watching the movie first, then immediately diving into the show to fully appreciate all the ways the writer's took every memorable line from movie and adapted it. Some are identical, some change context, some are completely changed through a modern lens. The way the show references Moby Dick is amazing. And the twists and swerves last from the end of the very first episode all the way through the finale, as you can never be sure exactly what direction they're going.

    People hating on this show because they think it advocates for the other side are just denying themselves and others the very best of exactly what they want. The balance of "sides" here is almost as good as South Park's, you just have to be aware enough to see both of them.

    About as recommended as a show can be.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2018
    9
    Don't mind the low ratings and the critics. Trust me, Heathers is a superb black comedy with lots of OMG! moments. Enjoy it for its' satireDon't mind the low ratings and the critics. Trust me, Heathers is a superb black comedy with lots of OMG! moments. Enjoy it for its' satire not political correctness. It's somewhat like insatiable, but better and more violent. Full Review »