Brianna Hildebrand | Ring of ElysiumIl battle royal game gratuito più coinvolgente di sempre | Craigslist Auto Poster 18.09.21
  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2018
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 28, 2018
    63
    The comedy here can be broad, and is usually far from subtle, but there’s a buried message that promises better episodes ahead.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 1, 2018
    60
    It has political points too, about diversity and unity, preservation and gentrification, which are simultaneously emphasized and danced around. Stripped down to its essentials, it’s a familiar sort of comedy about a person who would like to be left alone and the person who won’t leave him alone. ... If Dave can seem too weird to be true, the Butler family represents a dynamic so familiar to situation comedy as to seem practically real.
  3. Reviewed by: Mekeisha Madden Toby
    Oct 1, 2018
    60
    If executed properly, "The Neighborhood" could hold up a powerful cultural mirror in the vein of [Richard] Pryor and Norman Lear. But it’s not quite there yet.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2018
    50
    CBS has taken major steps to make its new fall series considerably more diverse than last time. The Neighborhood hits that mark, but also marches to the same-old/same-old sitcom beats.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 1, 2018
    45
    Perceptiveness alone will not carry a sitcom; it's got to have jokes. And The Neighboorhood relies far too much on the novelty of a black character spouting edgy lines that we're more accustomed to hearing from a white mouth.
  6. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Oct 1, 2018
    42
    It’s the misuse of Cedric and Greenfield that seems criminal.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 1, 2018
    40
    It has all of the cutting-edge social commentary of a CBS sitcom from the early 1970s.
  8. Reviewed by: Dave Nemetz
    Sep 24, 2018
    25
    A quality cast does its best, but can’t salvage the cringe-worthy dialogue and paper-thin characterizations.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Oct 6, 2018
    3
    First, I absolutely hate the canned laughter. If something's funny, let it stand on it's own. I was hoping for inspired writing, but thatFirst, I absolutely hate the canned laughter. If something's funny, let it stand on it's own. I was hoping for inspired writing, but that wasn't the case. I was hoping for a modern day reverse "Jeffersons" with beacomparable wit and bite. It didn't happen in this episode. I hope it gets better because the premise is great. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2018
    6
    I feel like we may be judging this show too harshly! This show I thought was pretty funny! I really like all the cast in it especially MarcelI feel like we may be judging this show too harshly! This show I thought was pretty funny! I really like all the cast in it especially Marcel Spears as Marty. He carried the show for me and that's crazy when you look at all the talent surrounding the newcomer!! I think this show is going to evolve into a great show to watch with the family! Just give the show time to develop and see what happens! I for sure will be tuning in to see if the show truly stands out! Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2018
    3
    Is it just me or is @TheNeighborhood simply "All In The Family" in reverse? Not very funny in today's world.