Friend Finder for BBM™ | Anonymous Noise Episode 1 English Sub | Manuel Garcia-Rulfo
  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2018
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 1, 2018
    60
    It has political points too, about diversity and unity, preservation and gentrification, which are simultaneously emphasized and danced around. Stripped down to its essentials, it’s a familiar sort of comedy about a person who would like to be left alone and the person who won’t leave him alone. ... If Dave can seem too weird to be true, the Butler family represents a dynamic so familiar to situation comedy as to seem practically real.
  2. Reviewed by: Mekeisha Madden Toby
    Oct 1, 2018
    60
    If executed properly, "The Neighborhood" could hold up a powerful cultural mirror in the vein of [Richard] Pryor and Norman Lear. But it’s not quite there yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2018
    50
    CBS has taken major steps to make its new fall series considerably more diverse than last time. The Neighborhood hits that mark, but also marches to the same-old/same-old sitcom beats.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 1, 2018
    45
    Perceptiveness alone will not carry a sitcom; it's got to have jokes. And The Neighboorhood relies far too much on the novelty of a black character spouting edgy lines that we're more accustomed to hearing from a white mouth.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Oct 1, 2018
    42
    It’s the misuse of Cedric and Greenfield that seems criminal.
  6. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 1, 2018
    40
    It has all of the cutting-edge social commentary of a CBS sitcom from the early 1970s.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Oct 4, 2018
    3
    Is it just me or is @TheNeighborhood simply "All In The Family" in reverse? Not very funny in today's world.
  2. Oct 15, 2018
    2
    I had hopes for this show. I like the performers and there's plenty of potential in the situation. But the show is rife with overly broadI had hopes for this show. I like the performers and there's plenty of potential in the situation. But the show is rife with overly broad racial humor, and the characters spend more time worrying about each other's attitudes than they do in trying to get to know each other. Disappointing. Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2018
    3
    First, I absolutely hate the canned laughter. If something's funny, let it stand on it's own. I was hoping for inspired writing, but thatFirst, I absolutely hate the canned laughter. If something's funny, let it stand on it's own. I was hoping for inspired writing, but that wasn't the case. I was hoping for a modern day reverse "Jeffersons" with beacomparable wit and bite. It didn't happen in this episode. I hope it gets better because the premise is great. Full Review »